Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2008
    Anonymous

    FESTIVALS OF BHUTAN

    Fabulous! A once in a life time and a definite 'do before you die'.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to adiquitely explain! The people were the highlight. This country is still largely un spoiled by tourism, i hope it stays that way. The children have no fear of strangers and love to see thier photos on the back of your digital camera. We were welcomed so warmly and seen as a novelty which was lovely. The most powerful moment for me was being invited into a section of one of the monestaries which tourist arnt usually allowed into. It was beautifully decorated and we recieved a blessing from one of the monks before we left.The most peaceful moment was standing ontop of a mountain over looking the capital, Thimpu, surrounded by fluttering prayer flags.The most heart warming was being invited to our guides home to meet his daughter and see how Bhutanese people really live.Last but not least - arriving in Nepal to co-incide with Holi, one of the main Hindu festivals where people throw coloured paint at eachother.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. He allowed our itineray to be flexible and managed to meet our varied expectation and aspirations. He really made the trip worthwhile. In nepal we didnt really have a guide but we had a local rep who explained to us about the local area and how to get to the places we might want to see. He also arranged for us to do an extra guided tour of Baktapur which we paid for out of our spending money.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take clothes for varied weather conditions - it was very warm while we were there (march depature) and i ended up having to wash most of my tops to wear them again. The temples and the festival require women to wear loose fitting clothes with arms covered to below the elbow. Skirts shouldnt be above the knee. Also do not wear hats at the festival or in temples as it causes offense. We were advised not to change travellers cheques at the airport which was a disaster. Most hotels dont hold enough funds to change travellers cheques of any size. This left several people in our group without spending money for most of the trip. My advise would be take US dollars which are widely accepted. Nepalese rupees are also accepted and change travellers cheques at PARO AIRPORT as you cant change them anywhere else easily. There was no problem with using travellers cheques in Nepal. In case of emergencies it is worth taking a first aid kit which has some steralised needles in it. That way if you need to go to hospital, for what ever reason, you dont need to worry about hygiene.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some people may be put off by the cost of travelling on this trip - once you visit the country you can see the value of trying to keep the numbers of tourists down and although the trip is expensive it wouldnt be anywhere near as enjoyable if thier small population was overwhelmed. Its well worth the money!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CLASSIC KENYA SAFARI & ZANZIBAR

    An extremely well put together holiday which, given the location, had unexpected elements of luxury along the way. I felt that the holiday had been ordered so that we could acclimatise slowly, which was appreciated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I can't pin just a single one down. The lodge in Zanzibar was incredible and arriving there was a big surprise - it's that good! Seeing our first big cats was an obvious contender. Sitting out eating a full english in the middle of nowhere after the hot air balloon ride was a fantastic experience. However, I think our nights in the camp were the real high points: we were a bit nervous about what we'd find at the camp, but the tents were fantastic and later on, sitting round a fire drinking wine and then eating (fabulous food!) under the clear, black sky was something I will always remember.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Great fun, very diligent, thoughtful of our safety and incredibly knowledgeable. All of the staff who looked after us, especially at the camp, were amazing. They even made a big deal of a birthday while we were out there and danced a tribal "birthday" dance. They should be very proud.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You must do this trip! And if you go, do the hot air balloon ride - it was one of the best things we did. It's expensive but well worth it. Make sure you take plenty of high factor sun cream for Zanzibar too - several of us got burned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I went in September. You stay in 5 different locations in total so, while it doesn't seem like you're always on the go, there's a lot going on and I was suprised at how slowly time appeared to go.The roads are very rough and you do get thrown around quite a lot. There's a lot of dust too. Instead of seeing this as an annoyance though, I found that it added to the charm of the trip - it's really like that in Africa and I appreciated seeing it as it is. It makes you think about your own life.Finally, take some pens and exercise books for the kids at the school that Exodus sponsors.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    TIGER SAFARI - SPECIAL TRIP

    The excitement of glimpsing your first elusive and truly wild Tiger in Bandhavgarh makes the long journey worth every hour it took. A country of huge contrasts as you arrive in bustling Delhi then transfer to the apparent chaos of Indian railways to travel through towns, and vast swathes of countryside to Katni station for the transfer by road to Tala - road travel was an experience unique to India!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The charity work to rebuild and improve the school facilities in Tala (a joint project between Exodus and Friends of Conservation), and another charity providing funds to the villagers to compensate for animals lost to Tiger kills.These two projects should go a long way to help to ensure the success and future of both Tala villagers and the wild Tigers in Bandhavgarh National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul Goldstein continues to provide exceptional skills at quickly bringing together a relatively large group of people from diverse backgrounds and making it into a fun and informative trip. Balvinder our local guide from Delhi was outstanding, ensuring we had packed meals for the long train journeys, marshalling us at very busy stations organising porters for luggage and generally taking care of anything we might need.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for unseasonably cold weather. In February we had frost overnight! Otherwise information contained in the trip notes was accurate.The charity cricket match (one lunch time between game drives) was a great occasion for the whole village as well as our tour. If you've played cricket before but a bit rusty get some practise in the nets before travelling, if not be prepared to be an official photographer for the match! Everyone gets to take part in some way or another.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip provided the most challenging wildlife photography that I have encountered to date. Wild Tigers are an especially difficult subject, they are timid and unlike the big cats in Kenya do not sit and wait for you to compose shots and try different angles. You have a fleeting moment if you are lucky. Better chance from the back of an elephant but then the angle is all wrong. Would definitely try this again in the future - just to see a wild Tiger is truly amazing, a trip I will never forget.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    Excellent trip, very well run. Most enjoyable! Had no real idea what to expect before going.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one moment - best day - a tie between Val Ferret (Italy) and drinking vin caldo above Courmayeur.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oliver v good guide, lovely manner, his & Elaine's hard work v evident. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    salopettes - too warm for cross-country ski-ing !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hooks Chloe, hooks  Bon bon
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WINTER MULTI ACTIVITY

    Excellent holiday whee each day's activities was thoroughly enjoyable, can honestly sya every day was a joy!  The guides really knew their stuff and managed the mixed abilities in the group really well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The start of the second day snow shoeing where we went further up the mountain and had excellent views of the valleys below, absolutely classic views - and good fun larking about in the fresh snow!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our leaders were excellent, knew what to do and looked after all members fo the group really well.  The optional activities were really well catered for and we were under no presure to d any of them which was good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on this holiday!  It really was that good, but make sure you are fit enough before you go, a bit of work in the gym etc before you go will pay back in spades on the holiday

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really nice locationa dn the accomodation was the best I've had on an organised trip - so nice to be able to empty into a single wardrobe for the week!  If you want a week of really varied winter activities for a reasonable price (but it is only a few miles from the Italian/Austrian border so the same mountains) visit Slovenia and have Exodus as your guide!Maybe I should have given it 5* but I'm waiting for a really breathtaking holiday for that...thougu it would have to be really good to beat this one!
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    HOVDA MIXED ACTIVITY WEEK

    A good sampler to see if winter snow activity holidays were for me or not

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure that there was an "inspirational moment" Much was what I expected  and some (see below) was not. I now feel confident about booking a further holiday snow shoeing but preferably moving on such as hut to hut. Likewise with dog sledging on a long distance trek.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fine -energetic and active. Could have given more tuition on going downhill techniques when on cross country skis as we all found it challenging - some more so than others.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The predominant activities were snow shoeing and cross country ski-ing - anything else advertised is merely ancillary.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The dog sledging was great but far too short - only 40 minutes total (as passenger and driving) per person although it took up over two hours. That said it left a gap in the rest of the day.The sleigh ride was a huge dissappointment - in fact not a sleigh but a horse drawn cart which trudged up and down local roads which we had already traversed on foot. We all expected going over virgin snow in the forest etc.  It was a waste of time and is not something which I would have paid for willingly as an extra although a proper sleigh ride I would have.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    THE HILLS OF RAJASTHAN

    As I had been briefed, India is " full on".  Full of Colours, sounds ( especially horns), smells and tastes. The two weeks were packed with experiences, a great mix of tourism and activity.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    3am in the desert under a full moon, with the camels muttering in the background.Heading directly for a lorry laden with stone, which obviously wasn't going to give way.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bushan was great.   He warned us of difficulties, sorted our problems and organised as many experiences as he could fit in. (He didn't warn  us we were visiting the rats temple until we arrived there). As we got to know each other, his humour and caring emerged . He was always watchful , making sure the back markers were not hurried, and making sure they had time to rest.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't buy a travel mat, there are foam mattresses provided. (if you have one, take it for extra comfort.)Don't buy water sterilising tabs. The leader has a supply in the first aid bag ( along with the toffees).Bottled water is always available. Do take a bag of sweets.Do not take travellers cheques in Sterling,  Dollars are acceptable. Don't rely on your Debit card, your bank will probably block it, even if you told them where and when you were going. If you do rely on ATMs , take the phone number for your bank so that you can call them to assure them that it is you trying to use your card. Credit cards are not very reliable either, the lines are often down. Sterling notes are easy to change, but dollars preferred.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

     There are an awful lot of forts and temples in Rajasthan!We saw tiger.This is not a shopping trip, but you can learn to bargain.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING: TRIGLAV NATIONAL PARK

    great place. great accomadation. Fantastic guides

    What did you think of your group leader?

    absolutely fantastic. Really customer focussed. Fun, good teacher, huge patience with the large difference in people's abilities.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    SWISS ALPS WINTER ACTIVITY WEEK

    Great opportunity to try out a wide range of new activities.  x country skiiing was great and I would now consider doing a weeks holiday of this alone. Good balance of group activity and free time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taboggoning was the most exciting fantastic! Overall it would have to be the people on the trip -  great times, laughs, and memorable conversations.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent - Stephen D'Sylva organised  the activities to make the most of favorable weather conditions at the begining of the week.   There was sufficient flexibility to accomodate different abilities and enable everyone to get the most out of their week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good overall level of fitness will enable you to get the most out of all the activities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first Exodus holiday and before the trip I did not know what to expect. It's a great opportunity to try out a lot of different activities and the rest day enables you to focus on one you may have liked or in my case to revisit downhill skiing which I had not done in a long time.
  • Reviewed March 2008
    Anonymous

    CROSS-COUNTRY SKIING AT RONDABLIKK

    Wonderful holiday with an excellent instructor, would recommend it to anyone wanting to try cross country skiing. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to grips with the skills needed and being able to explore the area.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The instructor was excellent,  he was enthusiastic, patient and skilled.  Could not fault him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to have a few bruises and tired muscles. it is a all body workout, but well worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Brilliant, can't wait to go again
Call us on 0208 772 3936