Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Tubing was fantastic

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lots of opportunities to do a range of snow activities that we would never have the opportunity to do otherwise, each activity had its own merits: the beauty of walking in new snow; the exhilliration of tubing and sledging; the enjoyment and achievement of cross-country skiing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really caring for all members of the group, knowledgebale and well trained for all the activities, willing to be involved with the group and didn't think of his job as 'work' he was brill

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really understand the grading of the holiday as snowshoeing can be exhausting, suitable for the young and not so young - at least 1/2 our group were 50+; you wont need as many clothes as you thinkyou do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bled is a beautiful place with lots of facilities in the small town, everyone was so welcoming and the walk round the lake is so relaxing.  Would love to do it again but there are so many other places to go, things to see and do!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Cross Country skiing for the second time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Wonderful scenery! -Skiing through snow covered woods, then rounding a corner and seeing jagged peaks ahead, brilliant rays of sunshine coming through the clouds, powder snow swirling down a steep white slope on my left and a tree filled valley way down on my right.  A magical sight, but no opportunity to stop and savour it, as it was far too cold, and the wind was blowing me along! I just loved it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was a fun leader, a very experienced skier and teacher, and one felt safe skiing in his company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Aged 56 and never been on a snow holiday before, I was very nervous about cross country skiing.  However I loved my first cross country trip with Exodus (despite huge bruises from my terrible first attempts at snow ploughing), and couldn't wait for my 2nd trip!  I think cross country skiing is very much like cycling (which I also like doing),-  once you have got a nice rhythm going, it is just like cycling on the flat, and you feel as if you could go on for ever.  Up hill requires that bit more effort, and downhill is just free wheeling and so exhilerating.  At first going dowhill (only gentle slopes) seemed scary, but I made myself do it by urging myself on out loud!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am hoping to go cross country skiing again next year!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Ice is nice!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Polar Bears are a huge feature and a huge attraction - but this is not a zoo so you do have to work to find them. We saw 9 bears, which seems to be fairly average luck - but no-one was disappointed. Whilst looking we also found incredible ice bergs, towering cliffs teeming with birds, curious seals, glaciers, a pod of white Beluga whales who milled around the zodiacs and a sky-hopping Humpbacked whale. We also saw walrus (we were a little unlucky and saw relatively few) and a polar mirage

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of the Vavilov's crew are great at what they do - Dutch, Aaron, Woody & Annie, Scottie, David McG & David Sinclair, Bjorn, Maggie & Chloe, Ian. They are passionate about this place & work hard to make sure their passengers leave equally enthused

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have warm clothes because an afternoon sat on a zodiac drifting through an ice field can be chilly - but then if you do find bears you certainly don't want to cut the experience short by returning to the ship. Also, you do need to be flexible and not need a rigid itinerary - ice is beautiful but unpredictable so your route may need to be adapted at short notice to accommodate this, and wildlife is never predictable so you can not guarantee to see the animals you want at the precise time you want.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    An amazing introduction to Africa

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The experience of driving though Africa, its people, its wildlife and amazing landscapes and of course my first experience of staying in a bush camp.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis - Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, considerate and full of experience that only a leader of his caliibre could portray...  Also Robert who was our other guide...  They were both fabulous at their jobs and enjoyable to be around......

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although dollars are widely accepted it is imperative that you also take a certain amount of the local currency also.  If departing Nairobi for Zanzibar have your guide or someone confirm your group flight at Nairobi airport as we were removed from the flight as they had over sold (lalthough we had been booked for a year) the flight and removed us as we were a group of 12, this was Kenya airways..

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a truly wonderful holiday and a good intriduction if it is your first trip to Africa and first safari.  Our Guides and the camp staff could not have been setter.  All thanks to them at Kicheche Private camp.  Excellent guys!!!I do feel that when leaving Nairobi for Zanzibar the driver who collects the group and takes them to the airport should stay with them as our driver just left and we did not have anyone to speak for us and the language barrier made it difficult when they were trying to reorganise our flight after removing us from our scheduled flight.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It wasn't the easiest holiday I've ever done, but it was by far one of the most rewarding!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Galloping wild horses, crossing the rivers either carrying our bikes (or I did it on a pony)! Going for days on end and only coming across Nomads in their Gers and the stars at night were breath-taking.  This is one of the best holidays I've ever been on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic - a legend in the making!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling for this trip is harder than explained in the Exodus brochure.  I've done a couple of B trips before and in terms of physical exertion and the number of hills it was harder than any of the other B trips I've done before.  If you want to enjoy it and not be completely exhausted all the time, I'd recommend doing some off road preparation for the trip.  I did the Sept one, take lots of warm clothes for the evening - it is freezing once the sun goes down.  Other invaluable bits of kit (apart from cycling shorts and gel seat - take both, the terrain is unforgiving) would be anti-bac gel (there's not always water to wash your hands etc), ibuprofen and a flannel (you get a warm basin of water every night, soap and a flannel would be handy).  There aren't many places to charge digital cameras so take some spare batteries.  Rehydration salts are good, as it's easy to get heatstroke or very dehydrated, a couple of people suffered on our trip, but these sorted them out ASAP - I took one every day just to avoid getting heatstroke.  Oh yes, and bring a sleeping mat from the UK (one of those self inflating ones would be good) - the ones out there don't provide much protection and you really, really need a decent sleeping bag - at least a three season one.  We had frost on the inside of our tent one morning!  Finally, if you dont' want to cycle with a backpack (not recommended for such a long time), then you may want to get one of those handlebar bags which you can put an extra layer, camera and sunscreen in and then you don't have to faff around with things on your back.  There are no pannier carriers or anythign like that, so the handlebar option is the best one.  Have fun!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Everything i expected and more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was made to be a wonderful experience mainly due to the experience of our tour guide Frabrizzo, nothing fazed him, treating everyone on the trip with equal concern & interest. His calmness prompted the feeling of totally ease and confidence in his organisation of the tour.  This was the first time i have ever been away on holiday without family and will have no worries about going away with exodus in the future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above without Fabrizzo and his knowledge one wonders what the holiday would have like...... Well done Fabrizzo

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just follow the advice given out daily regarding Altitude SicknessAccount for the extra tips i.e. other gu,ides - amazon, on Lake Titicaca, porters & extra guide on trail, coach driver from cusco to puno 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first holiday with Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That we got to visit places that I could never got to on my own - and I never felt 'alone' just because I had booked on my own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent local knowledge and motivated; approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't hesitate booking a holiday by yourself - i was made to feel so welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could not stop raving about what a fantastic time i had on my return; and the things that remain are:- where can i go next with Exodus?! (am still trying to prioritise where to go next)- it is the only holiday where i put on weight despite walking each day - because the food was superb- have bought recipe book from the place and still cook dishes- am pleased that the company gives some regard to environmental matters - please continue to build on this - as sustainable travel is no longer a 'nice to do' but essential, as well as a competitive business issue. Can Exodus provide a mechanism whereby customers can offset their flights as part of the holiday cost? i.e. easy to do on your website or indeed include in the holiday cost as a matter of course (for those who are flying with Exodus completely) with an option to opt out  - and invest that in projects overseas to e.g. install solar lighting in developing countries, - if Exodus does not indeed do so already.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Over the plateau and higher yet

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking up a pathway away from our camping site, I heard the deep gong of an evening  bell and wound my way towards a distant monastery.  Greeting an old nun who came out to greet me with a bow, she took me up the steps to the shrine and taught me the ritual of paying homage of the bodhisattva. Then she tied about my neck a wall hanging and blessed me. Camping beneath Ganden monastery in Tibet we clambered up the hill side to sit on the wall of an enclosed courtyard and watched, by the light of the moon , the monks debating  in bright red-clothed groups.Scrambling out our frost-coated tent, before us were snow-covered mountains. The air was fresh and the sky a brilliant blue. There was silence and stillness. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick Fulford was the quintessential leader. There was nothing he couldn't do and little he didn't know. From mending the truck to easing a passenger's panic attack, you could rely on him absolutely. He gave us the freedom to do what we wanted but adviced and guided as he saw fit. He was always there - in the background and foreground - but never an oppressive or authoritarian presence. At the end of the trip we all agreed we'd travel anywhere under his leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on an overland trip and don't worry about the money or time. You will never regret it.  Don't fear being caught in a group that you can't get away from but you have a lot of time to yourself to wander about small towns, markets and villages on your own, and alone you meet the most extraordinary people. 'Adventure' holidays are fun but nothing compares, culturally or personally, to the overland trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It is tragedy that Exodus is down-sizing the overland trips. From having done a number of 'adventure' holidays with other companies, nothing compares to the experience of the extended overland journey. I am convinced that with proper marketing they would be very popular and that poeple would be willing to set aside the money and time to do them. I would recommend anyone to do such a trip once in their life time.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A Splendid Walking Holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A really good walking holiday, based in a super little village in a really scenic valley

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A dedicated full-time walk leader with vast local knowledge and an obvious empathy with the area and the local community. He ensured that the group enjoyed the holiday to the full.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The harder walks are taken at a steady pace.. The views are spectacular and the Mountain Hut lunches really special. If you are reasonably fit and used to ten mile walks back home go for it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Hotel and the whole holiday were excellent value
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A mix of active fun including cycling, white water rafting, hiking in amazing scenery combined with

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a nearby volcano gently erupt whilst relaxing with a cocktail in the spa hotel's swim up pool bar after a day's cycling through beautiful scenery is a memory i will keep forever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared that the standard of hotels in Panama is not on par with those of Costa Rica.  Also the crossing from Costa Rica to Panama involves walking along quite a long rickety bridge across the border.  This is a fun adventure but can be a bit of a pain if your luggage is heavy - you can't really wheel it along the bridge.   Consequently, its worthwhile bringing a medium sized bag with you.  That way you can take just the few beach essentials needed for the couple of days spent in Panama and leave your main luggage with the coach in Costa Rica.  
Call us on 0208 772 3936