Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sue Robertson

    An exciting chance to test your climbing and scrambling skills

    Having briefly tried Via Ferrata in 2016, I was keen to have a more prolonged and serious go at them. This trip was a great opportunity to do this with the difficulty increasing throughout the week. The last day was just beyond my comfort zone at times, but I felt totally safe with help from a top rope from the guides and it was very satisfying to do such a demanding route. A great experience and lots of photos to impress my family and friends!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    managing the last but one route reasonably easily.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guides were both excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to be as fit as possible. You really do need that upper body strength!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorothy Jackson

    Walking in the Austrian Tyrol

    My first trip to Austria more than reached my expectations . I have undertaken several treks, including Everest Base Camp, the Annapurna Circuit, Kilimanjaro and more recently, the Inca Trail. Whilst the altitude was lower, the level 5 walks were challenging and set at a pretty fast pace which definitely gave me a sense of accomplishment by the end of the day! I decided to opt for the level 3 walk on a day when the weather was more inclement and though gentler and lower, it was very enjoyable and still required stamina and a good fitness level. Our Guides, Bob and Lea, were excellent, and it was good to have the option to choose whichever grade you felt like doing each day. The hotel was very good, a spacious room and small balcony, comfortable bed and plenty of hot water to soak tired limbs at the end of the day, plus a sauna down the corridor. The food was tasty and plentiful and the bargain of the week was a packed lunch for 10 euros (for the week!) ! The staff were friendly and very efficient. The hotel is located on the northern shore of Lake Achen, near to the boat landing, so very convenient. The lakeside walk was delightful and a good option on a day when the clouds and rain came down. A good transport system - bus/boat/train - made it possible to visit Innsbruck on the free day and this was a very enjoyable excursion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After some strenuous climbs and long descents the fantastic views and beautiful scenery made it all worthwhile, particularly the day we were almost knee-deep in snow on the summit - magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob and Lea were both excellent. Lea led the Level 5 and Bob the Level 3. The evening briefings outlined the next day's walks and any questions we had could then be answered and helped us decide which level to go for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A reasonable level of fitness and stamina for some quite long days but no technical expertise really necessary. I would definitely recommend using walking poles, especially for the long descents. There is a well-stocked Spar shop about 15 mins from hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would thoroughly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sarah Conlon

    Beautiful walking

    Great trip. Opportunity for two walks each day. I only did level 5 which were varied heights and terrain. Awesome views. Guide changed itinerary when we were hit with early snow. Beautiful views each day. Four seasons in one week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    360 degree views of Dolomites and then whiteout on one of the days

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ingrid was very fit, friendly and kind. She was very knowledgable and made the walk to suit. We were a small group of level 5 and were not fit enough for level 5 walks so she adjusted and made the walks challenging with level 5 sections so perfect. She waited patiently and we never felt rushed. Albert I didn't walk with but had the pleasure of a few beers and dinner at end of day. Great man, very experienced and funny to boot!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had four seasons in one week. I should have packed better so more emphasis on trip notes of the variation in weather. I expected variation but not from 33 degrees to 0 and snow. Some members of the group underestimated the physical fitness needed and so I think the required level of fitness needs to be higher on the notes so good level for level 3 and above average/very good for level 5. Two members of the group lost bags and only did one walk so maybe suggest packing outfit etc in hand luggage??

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, great leaders, completely knackered! Hotel is fab. Drinks great quality and generous quantity. Service from all staff was amazing! Don't change the hotel!!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Claire Swarbrick

    Tour Du Mont Blanc Week

    Great people and beautiful scenery on a challenging but very enjoyable trip. Shame about the poor Exodus admin prior to the trip and the failure of any Exodus representative to meet us upon arrival at the airport (as promised).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just being in the mountains with such magnificent views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    There were 11 in the group and only 1 leader. At times the leader seemed oblivious to the fact that some members of the group had fallen so far behind that they could no longer be seen.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was a wonderful trip but I was quite disappointed in the service provided by Exodus as I had heard many good things about the company and this was my first time on an Exodus adventure. One of the ladies on the trip arrived at the airport to find that she hadn't been booked on to her flight and had to make last minute arrangements herself. This has put me off travelling with Exodus again
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Sandra Strange

    Fantastic hiking against stunning backdrop of limestone.

    This was a week of walking to celebrate my return to health after cancer treatment. It was a positive experience on every level. Both the landscape and the company were special. The hikes were challenging (I chose the 5), and all members of our group especially our leader Albert were supportive and encouraging.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It would have to be lunch outside the RIf Alberto, surreal rock formations and a very memorable chat with John.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was terrific. He has such a relaxed and pleasant nature, perfect for the job. I would love to go on another trip of his.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all types of weather but mostly, prepare yourself to be blown away by the Dolomites as they are a wonder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am already looking into my next trip with Exodus !
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Richard Binstead

    A Good Challenge for Those Needing a Quick Mountain Fix

    This is quite a tough trip for the reason that you get straight in to it, after a walk up to the mountain refuge on day 1 you are up early to attempt the summit, so definitely worth making sure you have done some training beforehand. Overall Its a good experience with lots of glacier traversing and some rock climbing to reach the top so not a straight-forward trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from Gran Paradiso are beautiful, looking out across to Mont Blanc at sunrise!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bernard was amazing, his experience in the mountains is vast so you have no doubt in his abilities, and he was great at keeping us motivated all the way to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light as you will be carrying everything up to the top and be prepared for a crowded summit, which can be unnerving as the summit is very small.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had bad weather on day one so could not go to the top, however on day two we got to have another attempt and made it, so this is not a one chance trip there are options if circumstances go against you.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Mark Thompson

    Great exercise, top food and an excellent guide

    The Tour surpassed my expectations. The days can be long and the climbs can go on, but it's worth it for the incredible views, excellent food and the stories and jokes along the way.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Dropping from Switzerland into France and having an espresso next to a glacier. Stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was excellent. He knew the name of just about everything we pointed at - and we did a lot of 'what's that' pointing! He was also excellent at describing the regions' nuances and accommodating requests. With a relatively large group, you're going to have people of different abilities and fitness levels. Nick did a great job of making sure everyone remained part of the group while letting some people have moments to run off on their own or have a breather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack light. You don't need that extra t-shirt. Just take a bottle of travel detergent and use the sinks and showers to refresh your clothes. After 30 minutes walking you're going to be sweaty anyway!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Diane Seaman

    Fantastic Experience - Stunning landscape

    Amazing country, unlike any I have ever been to. The landscape is mesmerising, and the waterfalls and geysers are breathtaking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of the waterfalls was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    T was fantastic. Great knowledge and enthusiasm. Also very humorous, excellent driving and made good lunches!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a mixture of clothing as the weather changes. Do not expect smart hotels. Some are pretty basic. There is quite a lot of travelling in the (extremely smart) bus, but you have to travel a few hours to get some of these amazing places...so it was worth it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Iceland is definitely somewhere to go to at least once in your life! And Exodus (as always) were fantastic.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Pat Glanfield

    Exercise and education.

    Walking in such a remote place was a priveldge. We were so lucky with the weather and able to enjoy stunning views and experience the wonder of icebergs and a glacier calving. 2 Husky puppies accompanied us on one of our walks, bringing added fun. Wading across chilly (very) waters of a river on our 25k walk was an experience and accomplished safely. The group got on so well and we had great fun at "happy hour" and impromptu games. We visited the museum and reconstructed dwelling in Tasiilaq and learnt much of the history of the original settlers from the Danish school teacher, who was volunteering there. A real eye opener. The helicopter transfer was very good, but on the way back to Kulusuk the pilot was ill and we came by boat. We enjoyed the trip, seeing icebergs and lots of humpback whales! We had 3 extra nights in Reykjavik on the way back and really enjoyed this time. A real adventure!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing and hearing the glacier calving.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kristján is an exceptionally good guide. Calm, knowledgeable, with good communication skills and a really nice bloke!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have a head net! Our thoughtful guide brought some for all of us and although there were few biting insects, there were flies and the nets were brilliant. Make sure you are fit enough to enjoy the walking, it was strenuous at times!
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Helen Cavill

    Challenging but very rewarding week in the Atlas Mountains

    A challenging trek but definitely achievable with a good level of fitness and pacing yourself. The terrain is very tricky, with steep inclines, scrambling over large rocks and long sections of loose scree. However, the scenery is inspiring and you'll finish the week with a real sense of accomplishment. Rounding off the trip with a day in the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh is great fun.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing at the highest point in North Africa (4167m), with clear blue skies and mountains reaching out as far as the eye could see. After setting off at 5am by head-torch light, the summit felt like another world. Also, the food prepared by our local chef was a daily delight - the Moroccan dishes were wonderful and the whole group were far too excited the day that he produced omelette and chips...!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    S'aid was brilliant. He did a good job keeping a large group (16) together when we all walked at varying paces. His English was impeccable and he had a great sense of humour. The whole trip was organised really well and the timings were pretty accurate. S'aid did fantastically to ensure that the whole group made it to the summit of Toubkal together (and down again safely) - it was a very long and challenging day but we were in safe hands the whole time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some snacks (sweets, nuts etc.) to keep you going on the trek. If you want any kind of souvenirs relating to Toubkal (e.g. t-shirts), make sure you get them before you leave the Atlas Mountains (the village where you stay in the gite is best) because you can't find anything of the sort in Marrakech! Keep walking slow and steady and you'll make it. Walking poles are definitely worthwhile for steep uphill sections and to help with dodgy knees going downhill. Make sure you have good worn-in boots - if you get blisters on the first day you'll spend the whole week regretting it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great value trip with a busy but balanced itinerary - highly recommended.
Call us on 0208 772 3936