Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    THE AMALFI COAST

    This is a very well organised trip and very professionally guided. The hotel and food are excellent and the walks are beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are many inspirational moments - from Herculaneum and Pompeii through to Ravello and Amalfi - the "Walk of the Gods" would be our top choice.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Christine was very well organised and looked after us very well. She had a wealth of knowledge and kept the walks at the right pace. Our expecations were well managed in terms of hills and steps! Exodus has very good leaders and guides and Christine was no exception.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you can cope with 6 - 9 miles walk in the heat (if you go in the summer) - it was over 40C on Vesuvius (even the locals were complaining!) - so we had to take it slowly and drink plenty.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a well structured trip in a lovely part of Italy. You cannot fail to enjoy it, the walks are great, the hotel food is excellent and there is a lot packed into the week - it is very good value.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY - challenging week

    The trip notes say that this is a challenging week, but if you are fit or walk regularly in the hills there is no reason not to enjoy this week. The accommodation is good and the family that run it ensured that we had the true Italian experience with good home cooking using local produce. I would go again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were no bad bits during the week, but the highlights included the 2 day walk with a night in the refuge. The walks covered the highest peak in Tuscany, plus an earlyish morning walk to the second highest peak in the neighbouring range. Seeing the sunset high up in the mountains was amazing and worth the walk alone.The food at the accommodation was perfect and plenty of it, always seconds available!There was plenty to challenge and enjoy on the walks, with chains, scrambling and ridges all done at some point, plus forest walks but always excellent views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Liz was our leader, and she was excellent, she was friendly and helpful and made sure that we all knew what we were doing every day and made sure we were comfortable on each walk, by allowing the faster walkers to go on ahead, but giving clear instructions of where to wait for the group. On the walks she made sure that we were all ok, and on our day off she ensured that we all knew what the options were for us to do. On the last day, as we had a late flight back to London, Liz ensured our day was full with a trip to Lucca and Pisa, thus meaning we had 7 full days.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are not fit, or do not walk regularly then this is not a week for you. However, if you are fit or walk regularly in the hills then this is a week for you.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    INCA TRAIL & THE AMAZON RAINFOREST

    An inspirational & exceptional trip with precision organisation, guided by a true professional.A fantastic mix of trekking, culture and history, beautiful scenery with a new image around every corner, new experiences and all this with great company. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without a doubt it was reaching the Sungate on day four of the Inca Trail to obtain the first view of Machu Picchu.A close second was the sunset on Amantani island on Lake Titicaca. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Juan was a wealth of information who assisted everyone in the group with their individual needs and never seemed to tire of answering questions and accommodating group members.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring along good insect repellent, carry toilet tissue paper at all times and make sure you have a good camera with long battery life!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't have too many expectations and go with an open mind to new experiences and meeting new people.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    NAMIBIAN ADVENTURER

    A family trip of a lifetime.  Everything worked - the Exodus description of the trip was accurate giving us a good sense of what we could expect and the reality exceeded our expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching the sun rise over the sand dunes at Sossusvlei on my daughter's 18th birthday was something very special.  But quadbiking on the dunes at Swakupmond was thrilling in a completely different way.  Seeing the landscape change from dunes to scrub desert to lush-ish green covered mountains as we travelled north through the country was pretty amazing.  And then all those incredible birds and animals.  How one can become nonchalant about seeing springbok, zebra, giraffes, warthogs, baboons, the seal colony, elephants and even rhino seems unthinkable but then add a lion with its kill; two lionesses with their cubs, cheetahs, hyenas and even a rare sighting of a leopard with photography opportunities to die for and words begin to fail me...Plus the fact that we are the least likely family ever to sleep under canvas and yet we loved it... all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Franz was terrific.  He struck the balance between sharing his knowledge of the country and its inhabitants (of all kinds) and giving us the space to spend family time together.  We drove along looking left and right and straight ahead learning about Namibia's history, its economic, political and cultural context, and came home much more knowledgeable about the birds and animals, the geography and geology and so on.  He was really well organised and prepared us fully for each day and all activities.  And he had a great sense of humour too. And accompanied by Jonas, who cooked for us brilliantly, they were a great pair for whom nothing was too much trouble.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you go in the summer months; do take lots of warm clothing.  We didn't really have enough and there were nights and early mornings when warm gloves, woolly hats, ski jackets and thermals would have been useful. Don't expect to have much time to read and relax.  We took books that didn't even come out of our bags. And there is quite a lot of bus travel; so do take this into account.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would heartily recommend this trip and the luxury of having a teenage departure meant that the itinerary was adapted to meet the needs of the group.  We also loved the balance of camping and nights in lodges.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC HIGHLIGHTS

    Fantastic trip, amazing views and really good food. Nice to have the luxury mixed in with the work. Oliver and Elaine make it home from home, really good hosts and bent over backwards to make sure we got to do all the things we wanted on our 'day off'

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating tart at Mama's surroubded by amazing views and good company

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldnt fault Oliver. Patient, knowledgable, good fun, really made the trip
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    JUNGLES & BEACHES - FAMILY HOLIDAY

    A great way to see a true Thailand at a suitable family pace. 'Absolutely immense" - Bradley aged 9

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing our 9 year old son riding on the neck of an elephant and feeding her as we rode along.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and better to have a local leader who knows the culture and history of Thailand.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Great holiday if you have a real sense of adventure.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous holiday with the right content to suit families who are looking for adventure and something different from their holiday. Ideal for children as ours ( and the other children on our trip ) had a great time. The holiday is set to the needs of the group and nobody was pressured into doing or trying anything they were not happy with. The two beach days at the end are a great addition just to chill out and relax before the journey home.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    SLOVENIA WHITEWATER

    This was a superb holiday with a wide variety of activities available. The guides were outstanding throughout and offered a mix of encouragement and fun. The only negative was the river being very low which resulted in some scrambling over rocks but Exodus can hardly be blamed for that!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whitewater rafting was superb even when I fell in!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nothing was too much trouble for Blasz. He is a thoroughly competent group leader who checked every night that we were all happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a torch if you wish to go into Kobarid.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel was clean and the staff lovely.
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC ASCENT

    What an amazing trip, well organised from the moment I left the UK and such an experience to reach the top of Mont Blanc, will definately be using Exodus again but the only thing is which trip do I choose next? Decisions decisions.....

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of Mont Blanc and taking in the fantastic views, we were blessed with good weather and a fantastic guide who got us all to the top & back down again in one piece.I would recommend this trip to anyone who wants a challenge!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very experienced guide who looked after us extremely well & made you feel safe on the mountain. Nothing was too much trouble and he was very patient when we were learning to tie ropes!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Plenty of hill training and previous trips at altitude would be beneficial. Do not underestimate this mountain as the ascent day requires lots of stamina. Also recommend wearing in your own boots and use tape on the backs of heals to prevent blisters (speaking from experience)!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    1. Mont Blanc beer tastes so good after a long days trekking. 2. You will also get to know other members of the group very well after a night in the huts!!
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    CUBA: LA ISLA GRANDE

    Cuba was a magical island, the scenery , weather, the food and especially the friendly people we met were fantastic. Everywhere we went music was playing which made for a fabulous atmosphere. I would love to go back to a few of the places we visited.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Eating out at gorgeous restaurants with fabulous food and a great atmosphere.Walking through the Sierra Maestre to see  the headquarters of the revolutionariesVisiting the Granma memorial in Havana, and seeing the vehicles used to start the revolution

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Freddy was fantastic.  He made the holiday what it was.  He was always very enthusiastic and full of energy to make sure that we made the most of our experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Learn to dance before you go.  The type of dancing they do is like Ceroc with more hip movements.  The locals will be very impressed when you can show them a few new moves.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just relax and enjoy yourself.  It is fantastic !
  • Reviewed August 2012
    Anonymous

    DISCOVER COSTA RICA

    A really great wildlife adventure.  Rain Forests, beaches, volcanos, hikes, swims, adventures and plenty of birds!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was more than one moment.The green turtle nesting and returning to the sea with the moon rising above the Caribbean sea with thunder and lighting in the distance.The humpback whale breaching in the Dulce Gulf again and again.The sea crashing through the trees where the rainforest touched the ocean.The lighting storm over the cloud forest whilst looking to the pacific ocean.The iguana falling out the tree by the bar in Tortuguero.Scarlet Macaws flying over the mangroves.Being woken up by Howler Monkeys.Need I say more?

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Berny was fantastic.  Warm friendly and knowledgable.  He went above and beyond with many more activities than the trip notes described.  In particular his early morning bird walks were a highlight for me.Without him the trip would not have been the success is was and I will always remember and be grateful to him for making my journey through Costa Rica memorable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go. Don't wait. Go.Be prepared for high humidity and take walking shoes with you - you will need them.Biting insects are everywhere - if you are prepared with long trousers and cover youself you will survive! Even though I did get some bites they did not detract from my wonderful trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Costa Rica is spectaular.Take every opportunity this trip offers.  Do the night walks, take the optional extras it will enhance your experience.