Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This was my first Exodus trip and I was bowled over from start to finish! Will definitely be back for more and cannot wait to be on the next journey!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Machu Pichu was a dream come true and the initial reason for my choosing a trip to Peru. Other main highlights included an overnight stay with a family at Amantani – an emotional & humbling experience, and thereafter the Colca Canyon to view the majestic Condors in flight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were so very privileged to have Fabrizzio Cornejo as our Group Leader. His knowledge & understanding of his country and its people are phenomenal and the passion with which he performs his work is tangible. He went the extra mile in terms of taking care of the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prior to departure, I had done a fair amount of reading, particularly relating to cultures, history, and politics of the country and this most definitely made me appreciate & enjoy so much more the significance of all that I was experiencing. I also learnt a bit of very basic Spanish and it was fun putting it to practice!Pack half of the permitted baggage allowance as an excellent laundry service is available in Cuzco, and this also means you will have lots more space for shopping en route – the quality and range of Textiles are amazing and very hard to resist! Read the reviews on the website and be prepared for some long travel, although I did not find this unpleasant as the scenery, wildlife & diversity of the landscape more than compensated. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For anyone passionate about travel, learning about new cultures and archeologically stepping back in time then move “Essential Peru” to the top of your wish list as this trip can only delight!! 
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CROATIA: ISLANDS & MOUNTAINS

    I found the footpath's in Krk very stoney and rockey which was hard going for me to keep up with the younger members in the group; the cumulative effect of this was on the last day when the lip of my walking boot was making my ankle hurt and I decided not to do the walk; despite this and a previous tummy upset I enjoyed the holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The stay in Trogir was inspiring..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Edu is a good and reliable leader with a sound knowledge of plant/flowers and wildlife in Croatia.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None except the overnight stay in the mountain hut where, if the temperature drops, be prepared to go without a change of clothing for twenty four hours or so.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    A WEEK OF DISCOVERING ANOTHER WORLD

    A brief yet unforgettable journey into another land, a different way of life, and almost another time. Meeting the Bedouin people who remain untouched by greed for wealth despite daily contact with masses of humanity, and manage to remain happy and hospitable despite living such hard lives in inhospitable terrain, was quite a moving experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing 800 - odd steps up a steep cliff face in Petra, feeling exhausted and out of breath upon reaching the top, turning around fully and then discovering the massive stunning facade of El-Deir! A prize worth the hard climb uphill.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable, capable, kind, socially very responsible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of spares for photographic equipment or electronic equipment in general. It is hard to come by and ridiculously expensive in Jordan.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go prepared to have a great time. I haven't done the cycling or trekking trips, but I don't know if I would want to, seeing that there is so much to discover, especially in Petra. I would much rather spend all my time seeing other places, like Jerash, Madaba and Kerak. I would definitely recommend walking on one of the trails off the beaten path in Petra on the second day - ask your guide to take you to a viewpoint that allows you to look down on the treasury! Oh, and don't miss Petra by candlelight.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    HIGHLIGHTS OF CHINA

    A very well organised trip. We packed a lot into the 2 weeks, saw all the major sights and did lots of the extras as well. The traffic in the cities was horrendous, crossing roads was a nightmare! But I did manage to learn to eat with chopsticks-just about!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the days in Yangshuo. The Liu Sanjie show was spectacular, the kayak trip was great, we finally got away from the crowds, and the tandem ride was fun, but a bit scary too in the traffic. I was really impressed with my cooking skills too! Also the Shanghai acrobatic show was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emma was very good and friendly and managed to keep smiling whatever she had to organise. She went the extra mile to give us a real flavour of the country, helping through all the trips on public transport, choosing lots of different dishes to reflect local specialities when we ate together and recommending extras that we could do.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for very hard beds in most of the hotels! Apparently the Chinese like them, I needed to sleep on top of a duvet apart from in Shanghai. The Great Wall walk is hard work, be ready to bargain with your farmer "helpers", although I was glad of my lady's helping hand on the rocky parts. Beware of mosquitoes in Tongli and Shanghai!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The night boat trip around Guilin was a bit too much like Disney for my taste, but the other extras were worth it. A Chinese massage is also an experience, just what I needed after the Great Wall walk.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    PHOTOGRAPHIC SAFARI

    Stupendous safari with sightings galore, quality comfort and cooking, adventures abound with exciting encounters.  Highest honours to the hosts and proficient Paul's gregarious guiding contributed to a group of contented comparative strangers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As a first timer on a "proper" African safari we got off to a brilliant start but every day became special in its own way then the last drive on the last day exceeded expectations with the elephant encounter to surpass all others.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul's own indomitable style kept the group on high alert and his art as raconteur made evenings highly entertaining - his enthusiasm and passion for animals is manifestly evident.  A different judgement of your photography together with samples of his work provides stimulating thoughts and aspirational desires. I hope to have the delight of travelling with him again.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was the only one in the group NOT to have an SLR - some could be intimidated by this.  Also if you have an ipad or similar for downloading and reviewing work with PG in the evenings - be sure to take it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Following on from the above - consideration could be given to which way a "photographic" trip should be set. Is it for the elite(?) SLR brigade or open to all with a camera who wish to improve their photography? Alternatively aim different trips at different levels?  
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    Low Season, High Grass But Still Sightings!

    A supposedly 'low season' trip which still saw lots of sightings of leopards, cheetahs and lions. The grass was unusually high this time around (compared to the same time 2 years ago) which made the photography more challenging - but the grass (when not in the way of your subject) looked beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two moments really - a day and a half spent witnessing a young cheetah play-fighting with his very tolerant mum - leaping up into trees and having to be taught how to come back down! Plus a close encounter with a herd of elephants - a teenage one in particular. Who approached our vehicle a number of times to use it as a scratching post! A magical moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul was his usual whirlwind of hyperactive energy - mad keen on us both seeing some big cats plus also honing our photographic skills into the bargain! It's hard not to find Paul's enthusiasm contagious - and the occasional yelling for 'faffing about' is fine as you know it's just because he wants us to be in the prime position to get the best shot and to experience the animal behaviour up close.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect early starts and long days - not a problem for most as the adrenaline tends to kick in if you have a sighting or hear of a sighting and are going hell for leather trying to get there as quickly as possible! Evening and mornings can be cold - so take a fleece or something. Generally very hot during the day, so any pale people like me need to take a good amount of suncream!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bush Camp was as fantastic as ever - just the right size to still feel 'cosy'. With Darren and Emma being the perfect hosts. The unusually high grass made it harder for the guides to spot the big cats compared to normal - yet they still managed to see things that us lesser mortals failed to see! An extra vehicle was even sent out scouting for sightings - to maximise what we saw. Low season it may be, but the benefit being that we were amongst very few other vehicles. So when we did see the big cats we got to enjoy them all to ourselves and for longer.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    ESSENTIAL PERU

    This holiday totally exceeded my expectations.  I had a wonderful rollercoaster of a ride from start to finish.  Peru is a country of such diversity, everytime our bus entered a different valley it was absolutely breathtaking.  From sand dunes, to flat, black desert to mountains, to volcanoes and vast open spaces, to interesting cities and a plethora of archeaology and wildlife. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I needed and enjoyed the safety of the group but loved the opportunity of free time to tailor some of the trip to my own desires, thus a morning spent walking from Pisac, followed by fresh juice and corn in the market, was wonderful and will stay with me forever; other highlights include returning to Macchu Picchu for sunrise, and climbing to the top of the island for sunset on Amantani, and standing watching Lllama, Vicuna and Alpaca graze next to big lonely lakes, surrounded by even bigger skies, and seeing the ice maiden Juanita in Arequipa.  The white water rafting, the sand boarding........I could go on and on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio was great.  He knew everything there was to know about Peru, the Incas etc.  For me he really came into his own when walking us around Maachu Picchu, his love and pride was evident and he enabled us to fully appreciate what we were seeing.  I felt well looked after but not in an obstrusive way at all.  His advice was first class.  He does his job very well indeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As long as you drink loads of water, and I mean loads (3-4 litres a day), and move slowly you should not be affected to much by the altitude (but you will pee a lot).  Take the opportunity to sleep early at night and on the bus as there are a lot of very necessary early starts to enable you to see everything possible. Enjoy every minute.  Go with the flow.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Being part of a group made this holiday possible for me; and I have nothing but praise for the whole adventure.  This was my first experience of Exodus - it was so good I am now trying to decide where to go next.  If you want to see Peru - in all its extremes, book it - you won't regret it!
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    WALKING IN TUSCANY

    What a lovely place. Great views, lovely people, mamma's cooking was excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sara was a great group leader. Very knowledgeable, always there help if needed. Thanks Sara for making this a great.holiday.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    MT TOUBKAL CLIMB

    Amazing adventure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful country, great challenging walks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great group leader. Inclusive of all abilities. Very good English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Compede!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you have enough money for bottled water. Water not provided.
  • Reviewed June 2012
    Anonymous

    CYCLING THE DALMATIAN COAST

    Superb scenery, excellent guide and enjoyable cycling makes this a top trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many good features of this holiday that it is impossible to pick out one moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Oustanding: calm, boyish charm makes him an excellent leader.  Also picked out some very good restaurants to take us to at lunchtime and in the evenings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get yourself on this trip if you can as there will be few better trips.  If you are a particularly fit cyclist have a week at a gentler pace because the scenery is spectacular and the weather is almost certain to be good.  If you are put off by the "Moderate" label try and get some practice in so you can feel comfortable booking yourself on to this trip.  The longest distance was about 55 km so it is not so far.  The hills are long rather than steep but you can always ride in the minibus and skip the long hills if they are too much for you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hard to improve upon this holiday although some in the group would have liked to spend longer cycling and some would have liked fewer undulations: you can't please everyone all of the time!  If in doubt, go for it!
Call us on 0208 772 3936