Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Dorian Moss

    Two wonderful weeks of high cols

    My second Exodus trek in the Alps, and the Haute Route deserves the challenging grade, definitely tougher than TMB. Very well organised by Exodus, excellent leader and camp manager, and a great bunch of 12 trekkers.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit of the third col of the day between Mont Fort and Prafleuri mountain refuges, the Col de Prafleuri (almost 3000m). This day 5 of the walk stayed over 2500m all day, we were fortunate to have a fine day for it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John is a natural leader, highly skilled in mountain technique but also very sensitive to the different abilities and interests of group members. He quickly gauged the correct pace, and knows when to give extra support to people who need it, e.g. with tricky parts of a steep descent. He kept our spirits up on the days with poor weather, and on fine days allowed the fastest members of the group to go ahead (but then wait at junctions). He has an excellent knowledge of Alpine geography and trees, which he was ready to share. Having been led by John on TMB in 2014, I was delighted to meet him again on arrival at Geneva.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is not for those who lack fitness and stamina. Several days wth 1000m or more ascent and descent, one after another: there is no rest day until after 6 days walking. Do this trip if ready for a challenge, otherwise consider the Tour du Mont Blanc TMB.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our camp manager Egle deserves full credit alongside John. She managed to perform wonders on a basic cooking stove, very imaginative menus, and the large portions one needs on such an energetic trek. The whole Exodus camp set up is very well thought out, including the design of tents, mess tent and all the auxiliary equipment like facilities to charge phones etc. I would suggest that the tents used are absolutely fine for one person but I would advise anyone travelling without a partner or very good friend to pay the single supplement. The two mountain refuges were an interesting experience of living close together, unavoidable to complete the route. Most of the campsites very well equipped, Exodus do not hide the fact that two others have very basic facilities.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jo Cuttell

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn 505A

    A great walk with fabulous scenery. The group was very supportive and friendly and this added to the enjoyment of the holiday. The food was amazing, delicious and filling. The camp manager was brilliant - very efficient, and a great cook.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the col after climbing up the ladders at the Pas de Chèvre. I've never done anything like that before. Exhilarating!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader really added to my enjoyment of the holiday. He was very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna of the area and pointed out interesting plants that I would have missed otherwise. We even saw an eidelweiss on the mountainside. He also shared his interest in the geology and history of the area which I found interesting and helpful in understanding the mountains. He was a thoughtful leader and took time to help people who needed support over the more difficult terrain. His route finding was impeccable and when bad weather came in the group felt complete confidence in him to get us to the campsite.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an inner sheet sleeping bag for the night in the huts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It's a great holiday- get fit and do it.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Michael Farnan

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn

    This was my first ever trek so I was anxious at first. I quickly settled in to the group and found the trek a great adventure and experience. The guide we had was excellent in terms of gaging the groups abilities and leading us. The support member of staff was also relaible and provided a good service. It was a hard trek at times but very rewarding. I am already looking to plan my next trip with Exodus!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The groups support for each other. I can't name one moment as there were many. Everyone had different strengths and abilities and were able to inspire each other at different times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, supportive and friendly. He was a great leader and I had every confidence in him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    None that has'nt alresdy been provided in the trip notes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No further information to add.
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Brian White

    Excellent, Tough Trip but Very Rewarding

    We did this trek in July and had perfect blue sky weather every day, but rain on the last day for the walk into Zermatt. The trek for us was one of the best European treks we have done and was very challenging/tough but extremely rewarding with stunning and changeable scenery every day. We really enjoyed the camping although the mountain huts and auberge were a little close for comfort but manageable once you got use to the idea of sleeping closely with other people!! This trek had it all for us. High col passes, snow walking and bum sliding, steep ascents, steep descents, rough terrain, boulder jumping, chains, forests, gushing rivers, waterfalls and lakes and absolutely stunning snow capped mountains and scenery. However, we were a little disappointed that the itinerary was not followed on the first day of walking and we missed not starting from the teleferique at Plan Praz and also the high level contour walk with ladders and chains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at a col each day at just under 3000 metres after a long, hard ascent and the stunning blue sky views that awaited us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As a result of Simon's background he was a fast paced, no-nonsense leader which, on occasions, was necessary due to the challenging/tough nature of this trek. However, a slightly slower pace to meet the total group needs might have been more appropriate as those who were at the back every day struggled to keep up and we had to keep waiting for them to catch up. Conversely, you really need to be a good and very fit mountain walker to get the best out of this trek.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On your first day off at Les Bossons, Chamonix (the warm-up day), do the ascent and descent from the campsite to the Refuge de Bellachat at altitude 2152 metres. This will give you a good feel for what the daily ascents and descents are like, whilst warming you up nicely for what is in store most days. If you make it, try the delicious omelettes at the Refuge and the views are also very stunning. For the huts and auberge take a head torch with a red light so as not to wake people up with a bright LED and also ear plugs. You only need to take a sleeping bag liner in your day pack and no flip-flops for the huts as croc shoes are provided. You will need to take a towel and soap etc as you can have a shower in the Mountain Huts at a cost of 5 Francs and they are free in the auberge. The long descents can be very arduous on your knees - definitely take and use two poles.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As the trip notes state this is a challenging/tough trek and you need to be more than a fell walker, capable of walking at altitude. You must also be capable of walking at a moderate to fast rate each day sometimes over very uneven rocky ground, otherwise you will probably be the one at the back holding the group up every day and preventing them from achieving the daily challenges e.g. ladders and high routes thus causing the leader to 'water-down' the itinerary. This will affect the dynamics of the group and also put you under pressure and potentially prevent you from enjoying a wonderful trek.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Anonymous

    Mont Blanc to the Matterhorn

    We were a little unfortunate with the weather in that we had a full week with minimal views, quite a lot of rain and very low cloud which was disappointing and at times frustrating. However we had a great group and learnt to recognise a lot of alpine flowers, as this was all we could see at times. We really appreciated the expansive views when the sun finally came out. The tents were a really good size for two and Charlie whipped up some fantastic meals in camp.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finally getting to see some fantastic views after a week of minimal visibility.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jenny was keen to keep the group together during the day, and make sure the group didn't get too split up. She did a good job at trying to keep morale up when the route had to be changed on several occasions as it was too dangerous in the snow and poor visibility to go across the highest pass of the route to Col Prafleuri, having already had to go on the low route rather than go on the path near the Trient Glacier.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to experience days with poor weather and limited visibility, rather than just the picture perfect blue sky photos in the advertising for this trip. Also pack clothes/layers for all temperatures from a really hot sunny day to a cold winter's day - we experienced it all.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    At times the group will be encouraged to take and pay for additional cable cars/chair lifts not described in the trip notes. Also at times it felt more like a coffee stop tour rather than a walking tour, but that may just have been our revised focus due to the poor weather we experienced.
  • Reviewed October 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    excellent guide (Mike Rhodes) - right out of the top drawer.  Would have enjoyed it more and would have been happy to pay more if the trek focused on Auberge accommodation.  Under canvas is not the best way to prepare oneself for a daily slog.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First sight of the Matterhorn from a col

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warm, accomplished, highly experienced, confident with an easy relaxed style - but we still all knew who was in charge.  Right out of the top drawer.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Despite the bulk, try to take a substantial mat for sleeping on the hard ground.  Self-inflating but with a 5cm height would be preferable.
  • Reviewed August 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN-ISH

    An outstanding and challenging trip. The mix of day walking and light backpacking, and the slow transition from France, French Switzerland to German Switzerland meant every day was subtly different and interesting. The reward of the Matterhorn on the last day was mesmerising. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, there were several. Finally getting to see the Matterhorn was superb. I don't know who Exodus pays to do the weather, but they pay well - it was bathed in shining sun and was a worthy end to the trip. The challenge of getting up the Fenetre d'Arpette, Col du Reidmatten and Col du Torrent was immense. It was hard work, no doubt, but the views and feeling of elation was worth it. The best of all was chatting to a fellow tripper Mike, an engineer, experienced alpiniste, mountain walker and an inspiration. More of one of life's adventurers really, who had some amazing tales, like pushing a pram from London to Leicester in under 12 hours! It goes to show that the group really make the holiday and in this case, ours was excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I felt Simon was an excellent guide. His hands off style really suited me as I felt I could try and walk on his (very fit) heels if I wanted to push myself, but equally, I could stroll at the back in my own time and not feel under pressure to be in sight at all times. It was quite refreshing to be "off the leash" a little as some Exodus trip-notes describe how a leader might allow everyone to walk at their own pace, but I'd yet to experience it. Again, it underlines how having a sensible, fit and smart group can really be the making of the holiday. Simon dealt well with the variable walking styles in the group too. Some wanted to walk and stop, have a paddle or take photos, others just wanted to push on, so it was nice to see trust from him to allow people to come on in their own time while he steered the diesel engines who just ploughed on relentlessly up front. I suffered with an ongoing injury that mean I had to sit out two days of walking (hence the ish), but I communicated with Simon each night as required to get an idea of what was coming, how I was feeling and so on and always felt looked after. In the end it came down to this for me - I had total faith that if there was a problem, Simon would deal with it perfectly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it. It's a great route, and don't be put off by it sharing some of the TMB route at the start, if you've done that before. Even a month apart, the hillsides are totally different. If you're new to alpine dorms be aware, you might get a bunk bed, but equally, you might end up in an eight person wide mega-bunk. There's plenty of room and your own pillow and duvet (plus your liner) but private it ain't. It pays to get in early and bag a tidy spot, preferably next to a good friend. Earplugs and something to cover your eyes, like a Buff, really help too. Eat many rostis. With cheese, egg, bacon, ham, whatever. They're such good fuel and super tasty. If you're thinking of saving money by bringing your own chocolate bars in, this works really well, until they all melt horribly and you have to put them in a stream to make them solid again. Maybe muesli bars are the way to go? 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only minor grumble in a five star trip is the lunch rations were a little meagre. Not even the fillings - there was always plenty of filling, just never quite enough bread. It got better in the second half of the trip, but no one wants to be a hungry little soldier! Otherwise, in my deeply biased view, this is an excellent trip. Some of this is based on luck - I got great weather, a great guide and best of all, a fit, fun and great group - but much is simply due to the stunning terrain over which you walk each day, from high alpage, hot valley floor, picturesque Swiss villages, past clanking cattle, up thigh-screamingly steep cols with chains to pull you skywards and glacial streams to cool your feet (and more) off.  Book it. Now. It's worth it. 
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    Fantastic trip, somewhat challenging but that's all part of the fun. Great sense of achievement at the end. Brilliant scenery, and we were lucky with the weather too. Very well organised trip, with an extremely competent mountain guide, who was happy for people to walk at their own pace whether that was fast or slow. The camping was very civilised - the only campsite chores that had to be done were taking down your own tent and helping out with the washing up now and then. This made changing campsites each day hassle free. Laundry facilities were available en route - I didn't need to take as much stuff as I did. The food surpassed all my expectations, and I am a fussy eater. Three courses every night of the best food I have ever had whilst camping. Overall one of the best trips I have done - recommended!
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    The ‘Haute Route’ through the mountains of France and Switzerland is a fantastic two weeks of spectacular scenery, some good old fashioned hard work and an indescribable sense of accomplishment. This part of the Alps has some of the best hiking I have ever experienced, with photos to last a lifetime. With an extremely competent and knowledgeable leader, and great hearty food every evening, you would be hard pressed to find yourself getting bored or going hungry on this trip. A brilliant holiday, which left many of my friends extremely envious, of both my pictures and my achievements.
  • Reviewed January 2013
    Anonymous

    MONT BLANC TO THE MATTERHORN

    The walking and the scenery were breath taking.  Every day yielded new views. It was a challenge to ascend each pass but the rewards were fantastic.  The trip was challenging but within my capabilities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A moment I remember was setting off in the morning at 7am from the first of the mountain huts and making our way up to the first of the three passes of the day.  We climbed on snowy patches of hillside and the slippery conditions stretched us all; we received excellent guidance from our group leader. I recall the sense of pure exhilaration on reaching the pass.  We had got off to a great start, the views were wonderful and a whole day of high mountain walking lay ahead.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Confident and relaxed, comfortable, competent and knowledgeable in the mountains, and able to accommodate all levels of walker, Mike inspired confidence.  An ideal leader for a mountain trek of this nature.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Love the mountains!  Love pushing and extending yourself!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed the supported camping, appreciated the support team's welcome, the endless cups of tea, the delicious food and the hot showers on several of the camping sites!!
Call us on 020 8772 3936