Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A stunning but bizzare mixture of scenery, architecture and culture

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the classic cars in Havanna.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Joel was fantastic, very knowledgeable, looked after all of the group and made sure everyone was fully informed and happy.  I would definitely recommend him as a top class Exodus leader and tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No, all the notes in the Exodus pre holiday pack were sufficient.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fantastic holiday and very happy with the Exodus experience.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Cheekyman (A friendly term for the Jackal)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful changing landscape The complete feeling of escapismThe amazing wildlifeThe whole camping experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was a local guide from Windhoek with a big smile and a wealth of knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of film and a long lens for wildlife.Try sandboarding at Swakopmund it's great fun!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall we had a brilliant trip definitely one of our best.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Climbing Triglav, a real high point.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Without question, the highlight for me was the ascent up Triglav, a long sustained but easy scramble, nothing too technical, but with dramatic views and a real airy feel along the long exposed ridge.  The cloud inversion with mountain peaks poking through below added to the sense of height and adventure. It was a real 'top of the world' feeling reaching the top, astonishing 360° views, and great camaraderie amongst the group, especially rewarding for those who had been a touch nervous about tackling the climb. After descending and back down sitting outside Tliglavski mountain hut, we took off our boots, relaxed in the warm sunshine with a beer and looked  back at the incredible mountain we had just climbed, spotting tiny walkers on the ridge like ants. Our feet were tired but the whole group had great big smiley faces, I shall never forget how good we all felt at that moment.     

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I rate Klemen (and Andre) as the best leaders I have had. Great sense of humour, great company, but safe and no nonsense when required. Without question, they added to the enjoyment of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are comfortable with straightforward scrambling on exposed situations. If not, and you are not able to do the (optional) ascent up Triglav, then you will miss out on the highlight of the trip, so maybe this is not the trip for you. The huts have very basic washing facilities, don't expect to wash much for 3/4 days, so don't carry much washing stuff. The scheduled Adria flights were very poor - both flights delayed by hours (and poor food on board) . As both flights were scheduled as evening flights, this delay was pretty inconvenient in both directions. My advice to potential travellers would be to book with another airline, and perhaps tag a day or two on to visit Ljubljana.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Amazing space!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Absolutely brilliant trip, with fantastic sightings and great photo opportunitys. The food was superb- very important for me!! The leopard completed an already great trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul is a great guide and superb photographer, and we all got fantastic results because he pushes us and doesn't pamper us, at the end of the day that's what we were all there for: fabulous photos and boy did we get them. I'd rather be kicked into first gear at 4.30 am and get real results, rather than fiddle faddle about being cossetted at 8am when all the animals have buzzed off, had their brekky and we would have missed all the action.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're not into photography and animals then this isn't the one for you, you need staying power and the yearning to get great pictures, otherwise go with A&K!!! The rest of you, this is worth all the serious early morning wake ups, long waits (I'm talking 3 hours) for that Cheetah to hunt, and unbelievably that elusive leopard sighting -worth every minute. And there is nothing quite like breakfast on the savannah.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Capturing a very special, rich bio-diversity environment and way of life before the EU gets in with

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    An inspirational local guide to explain a fascinating way of life for the people and biology of the area. I travel Exodus wild-life trips  to share with small friendly groups of like-minded people who want to understand the environment on offer in the context of a background of local biology and sociology-- and to enjoy themselves whilst doing it. The trips are always well planned and presented both before the trip [in the thorough trip notes] and during the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Homestead organiser Katrina and trip guide Dan have such a love for, and knowledge of, the country and the way of life that their enthusiasm rubbed off on all. Congratulations to Dan for getting to the Final of Guide of the Year. Very well deserved. They both went the extra mile for us though we must only have been one of many trips passing through during the year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit for the walking, particularaly if you want to do the very steep one to the spine of the Carpathians. But good that less fit beings can drop out of the final 400 metre push without feeling bad about it!The lower level of this climb [cabin at 1470 metres] need fitness attainment 'moderate' but I think the final push to the spine should be labelled 'challenging'.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our intinerary was changed around, partly to suit the weather but it was a good idea to do the big walk [see above] on the last day as everyone was fitter and more used to the terraine-- and we were allowed to finish on a real 'high' of achievement and views together.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It wasn't the easiest holiday I've ever done, but it was by far one of the most rewarding!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Galloping wild horses, crossing the rivers either carrying our bikes (or I did it on a pony)! Going for days on end and only coming across Nomads in their Gers and the stars at night were breath-taking.  This is one of the best holidays I've ever been on.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic - a legend in the making!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling for this trip is harder than explained in the Exodus brochure.  I've done a couple of B trips before and in terms of physical exertion and the number of hills it was harder than any of the other B trips I've done before.  If you want to enjoy it and not be completely exhausted all the time, I'd recommend doing some off road preparation for the trip.  I did the Sept one, take lots of warm clothes for the evening - it is freezing once the sun goes down.  Other invaluable bits of kit (apart from cycling shorts and gel seat - take both, the terrain is unforgiving) would be anti-bac gel (there's not always water to wash your hands etc), ibuprofen and a flannel (you get a warm basin of water every night, soap and a flannel would be handy).  There aren't many places to charge digital cameras so take some spare batteries.  Rehydration salts are good, as it's easy to get heatstroke or very dehydrated, a couple of people suffered on our trip, but these sorted them out ASAP - I took one every day just to avoid getting heatstroke.  Oh yes, and bring a sleeping mat from the UK (one of those self inflating ones would be good) - the ones out there don't provide much protection and you really, really need a decent sleeping bag - at least a three season one.  We had frost on the inside of our tent one morning!  Finally, if you dont' want to cycle with a backpack (not recommended for such a long time), then you may want to get one of those handlebar bags which you can put an extra layer, camera and sunscreen in and then you don't have to faff around with things on your back.  There are no pannier carriers or anythign like that, so the handlebar option is the best one.  Have fun!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    We were going to go camping, but it was all a bit tentative.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Although not actually part of the set holiday, on the free day we took the cable car from Chamonix to the Aquille du Midi, and on a clear day that is absolutely worth doing.  Especially as we see it up in the distance from the walks on most of the following days.  It really is high enough to feel the lack of oxygen, which was a first for me.  Nice place for a cigarette, too ;) 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Oliver had quite obviously been doing this for years, and knew the area and the walks like the back of his hand.   For several days he would remind is that we'd see marmots at quarter to two on one walk, and he was right.  He also had a natural ability to quietly roll out terrible puns, which often wouldn't register until later.The only leader I have known to use his nokia communicator to email ahead our drinks order to the refuge from halfway up a mountain. 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The exhillaration of achievement at the end of a hard day

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The organisation and attention to all details and the total professionalism making it a trip to remember.A big plus although not really down to Exodus was the fact that all of the 14 members of the part got on so well together. That situation  can only enhance the very good memory of the trek

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous,  so professional yet good fun. He really knew his business as well as an indepth knowledge of the area. Coupled with this he was also good fun and all of us had such a laugh

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Train for the trek and get fully fit especially if you fall into the upper age bracket as I do

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I and my friends have trekked many times over the years to many far away places but this was the first that 2 of us had gone with Exodus, we certainly will again next year
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never be so relieved to get to the top.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A great trip with excellent well informed and organised Spanish speaking guide/leader. Very good food and comfortable well equipped rooms.  Good company. Really good after hours things to do; wine tasting, guided town tour and visit to Santo Domingo de Silos monastery for Vespers. Never a dull moment. And a trip to Burgos to ease the aches and pains.Lovely countryside, villages,hills and valleys, cliffs and rivers and a mountain or three to climb. But definitely more of a grade 2++ than a straight 2. We were exhausted by the end of the week. The best time to go would probably be last week in September as the local saints are celebrated all week with various events every day. See the Covarrubias website at ecovarrubias.com for details including weather and much else. There were two romerias the week we there (early September). Go while you can.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. See above. Probably the best leasder we have had so far.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do plenty of training before you go as it is quite hard work.  Easy jet do cheap flights from Liverpool  to Madrid but you will need to go Friday or earlier as ther are no suitable flights Saturdays. But a couple of days in Madrid is a good way to start the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suspected  bed bug in room.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Slipping into a time warp...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The setting off the coast of Lycia, surrounded by green warm sea was very peaceful and beautiful. There was little sense of the outside world intruding  - no roads and settlements except for those small ones we landed at to explore. Complete peace, away from the hurly - burly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our captain also cooked, and was good at both sailing the boat and providing wonderful meals. He knew what he was doing, and offered us things we would enjoy. Inevitably, there was a bit of a split in the age range between older and younger people, with some happily in the middle. Sometimes this meant a bit of a clash in terms of people wanting quiet or music, but there were ways of resolving it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Alovely holiday. Bring your own music if you don't want to listen to other people's on the sound system! though we all enjoyed the Turkish music.