Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18336 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderfully remote trek

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The remoteness of the trek was wonderful, I really enjoyed the isolation, the knowledge that there was nobody else remotely near us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The trek leader has an impossible task trying to form a group of strangers into a team who will help each other through the difficult times and celebrate the good times together. With the best leaders the leadership is invisible, they appear to be just one of the group, the regular sight of Dibs apparently relaxing on a rock as we walked past shows he achieved this.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry about the length of the days or height of the climbs, you will succeed, just take it one slow step at a time and enjoy the experience.When you reach the top don't forget to take lots of pictures even if you are tired as you will probably never be here again. Remove your cagoule hood, balaclava and ear muffs before smiling for the camera, it's really not that cold for a few seconds and you will be looking at the pictures for a lifetime.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Every trek has to have a spare day at the end just in case, but the choice of Mcleod Ganj as a place to visit is just not right for this trip. After 10 days of walking in perfect solitude the last thing we wanted is a day in a crowded tourist centre, I don't thin any of the group really enjoyed the day. Apart from shops selling souveniers the only reason to visit Mcleod Ganj would be to see a little budist culture. However the budist culture here lacks the purity of Nepal or Tibet and since this trek is for experienced trekkers it is more than likely that they already had better experiences of this culture.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A great time in Tuscany

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Braccicorti is a great place to stay, very welcoming. Great food. Superb scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader. Very knowledgable and friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I've now been on 7 Exodus holidays and enjoyed every one. My wife and I are now planning our next trip and would always wholeheartedly recommend Exodus.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Andel's Landing - Eek!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 1 we were taken up Angel's Landing and when I saw what we were about to climb I thought they had to be joking. Jeff, our leader, talked me through the scary bits and such exhilaration to reach the top! Each day or two was a different national park ,all amazingly different and all with stunning scenery. Two highlights had to be The Grand Canyon (we did it all, rim walk, helicopter flight and 12 mile hike down to Plateau Point and back up again )., and Bryce Canyon. Bryce had to be the unexpected treat of the holiday. Absolutely breath-taking to view from all angles on the rim walk but still more amazing to descend into and walk through. The size and grandeur of the "red pillars" is indescribable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jeff and Wayne were our two leaders and they were certainly "the odd couple". Both were very different but entirely complemented each other and they made the whole trip such fun. Jeff's knowledge of the area was extensive and he was always very reassuring and helpful. Wayne was the joker to Jeff's straight man and between them we had a really action packed holiday. If we were ahead of schedule at any time they found another little treasure for us to visit. It was not a holiday for those who wanted a rest.The two lads did a fair bit of the cooking and we will remember Jeff's Japanese curry and Wayne's thousand ways to cook beans with fondness. When we returned to Vegas for our last night Jeff took us on a whistle stop tour of the city and then we all ate out together. Felt like they enjoyed the trip as much as us and that it wasn't just another job for them. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate how cold the mountains and deserts can get at night. We had to buy extra warm clothes and we felt that perhaps Exodus could have warned us of the cold temperatures a bit more forcefully! Jeff luckily had extra sleeping bags so at least we were warm at night.We thought that this would be a bit of a softer trek than the High Andes and Inca Trail we did 2 years ago. It was, to a degree, but by no means a walkover and a certain level of fitness is essential. Camping is not for wusses! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This review written by Heather Kane on behalf of Barry and myself. Can I thank Exodus once more for a really interesting and action- packed holiday and one to add to the  truly memorable list!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A Gem of a Holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The desert part of the trip was most memorable, sleeping under the stars, the peace and quiet, everything about it was unforgetableRock art was superb, as was the Romat towns of Sabratha and Leptis MagnaThe hotel in Tripoli was clean and the staff friendly and helpful.I cannot praise the holiday highly enough ... the experience of a lifetime

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader was wonderful in every way he bent over backwards to ensure the trip was a success, in fact the whole crew (the drivers and cooks) were wonderful

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, forget all your worries about this country and just let yourself go ... you will have a wonderful time in LibyaRemember to bring a torch, plenty of wet wipes and a warm jumper for the early mornings

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One sour note, the rough camp in the second week was dreadful, a stop on the road south, very bad accomodation, all of the party wanted to sleep in the desert rather than this pigsty
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    The whole trip excelled my expectations!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the locals in their own communities and homes. Also, the day treck on the last part of the Inca Trail, through the Sun Gate to the lost city of the Incas at Machu Picchu ...... awesome!! The Lake Titicaca visit and home stay was great too- getting a full insight as to how the floating reed islands are made and how the communties survive on them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabrizzio was fantastic. A credit to his country. He was informative, patient, interested ... everything a group leader should be.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The altitude WILL have it's affect on you. Headaches, sweats, dizziness, breathlessness, nausea, or some combination of these..... no matter how fit or unfit you may be. It's only temporary, though. Also, the sun burns VERY quickly at altitude. Bring plenty suncream and water. The jungle, as expected, is very hot and very humid!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I am so glad I chose this trip. It covers a huge part of Peru. All the great bits that everyone wants to see .... Lake Titicaca, Machu Picchu, and the Amazon Jungle. The trip also includes unexpected treats such as visits to families in their own homes and tastes of local cuisines.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never forget waking up to the sunrise on the Nile...............

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the less touristy pyramids and being the only group inside it!! Spending the time on the Felucca....so relaxing and great fun....real chance to get to know everyone.Having such a knowledgeable guide who was also good company............on tap to answer any questions however trivial!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As above -great leader and very patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Remember to take sleeping bags and plenty of mossie repellant etc altho' we weren't  bitten others were. Remember to have loo paper with you and small change for the loos........Any shopping get it in Aswan great souk and lower prices.. Beware the traffic in Cairo-terrible, nearly missed our sleeper train!!  (Which was a great journey).Games are great for feluca for kids

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommended........
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Like nowhere else I've been

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking up to see the snow capped peaks of Annapurna South and Machhapuchure in the early morning sun from the balcony of our tea house

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Helpful and pleasant, always positive, willing and cheerful; a good team player

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Allocate time to learn something of Nepal before going there - geography, culture, politics; be aware of the poverty and the need for sensitive tourism Clothing - take lots of layers - it can get very cold at night at altitude Take a head torch (ideally) for reading etc at night - the lighting is often dim in the tea houses and power cuts are common

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Like to go back in the spring to see the added colour of the rhododendrons and other spring flowers. We went in late October and saw a wide variety of sub-tropical fruit and flowers which was wonderful. Had expected better visibility  - mountains obscured by cloud by mid morning - so deprived of spectacular panoramas - better luck next time!
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Best trip i have ever done!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything was excellent from the start. We have overlanded before and were impressed with the start hotel in Kathmandu. The tour leaders knew evrything about the countries we were travelling in, and were completely chilled out, which relaxed the entire group! The highlights on this trip are unique, Everest, Ganden monastery, Potala palace, Tibet full stop!! The plateau (which most people never see as they fly to Lhasa), is a majestic open space and is truly beautiful and awe inspiring (and damn cold -20 !).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nick was a top bloke. Very relaxed, very knowledgable. Yet he knew how to handle the police and some locals who got nasty at one point. He refused to let the group be taken advantage of in any way. Easily the best tour leader, tour guide or person to overland with, that we have had! He will be a big loss to Exodus. I think i have to mention Dave Turner as well, our other driver. Nothing was too much for him and he often went above the call of (exodus) duty, for this group. He was excellent .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do this trip, and do it Overland as you miss too much doing it any other way!  Dont carry all your cash around as your asking for trouble. In big chinese cities stay in groups of 3 or more of a night. They are pretty safe but there are bad apples anywhere! Dont drink beer as you go up to everest, Mountain sickness with a hang over is no fun! Eat Peking duck in Xi'an! Dont let the guide rush you in the Potala palace (he will try)! Mostly though break the ice with your group from day one (lots of beer) and you are set for the rest of the trip. Also learn how to play texas hold 'em poker and take some chips with you!!!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think its a tragedy that Exodus have given this route up! It was excellent (this shows in the numbers booked on to our trip!). It was very well run, very relaxed and we enjoyed every second. I think you should seriously reconsider giving all overland up as S.America is a growing market and i WILL recommend your company.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    A different view on life

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on the Roman road leading to Alexandria one way and Tunisia the other and thinking of Romans living and working and travelling up and down that road, and being able to picture with ease the way they lived.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very nice and did a good job, although, I was surprised by a lack of detailed knowledge on the places we visited either the towns or the sites. But this had the added benefit of having guides at the sites who talked with fantastic knowldge and enthusiasm, all with their very individual personalities and ideas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Advice - bring toilet paper, a bath plug, your mobile phone generally does work and there are ATM's despite instructions in the Lonely Planet book. There is also a good restaurant next to the Marcus Aurealis Gate in Triploli - but go in small tables as they cannot cope with large groups (ie over 4 people, perhaps 6).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you go with an open mind the trip will be fun and interesting, certainly the service in most places is really not what we have in the west, Middle East or Far East, but is truely unique.  If you don't have time for a week long or more trip, Tripoli is a great long weekend break with time to see Sabratha and Leptis Magna, walking round the medina in Tripoli - something that is not marketed but would be a great city break.  
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    From rain-lashed to sun-burned

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    climbing up the side of the gorge when the path had been washed away in the downpour;interaction with local people;ancient rock carvings 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    they were both very friendly and so proud to be berber. they clearly love their home region and were proud to show it to us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    if you're vegetarian, you might like to take some meusli bars or something to break the monotony of carrots, potatoes and zucchini tajine. dont expect 'peregrine' or 'jules verne' standards.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    a value-for-money holiday.I'd have prefered to do the trek in reverse so that we started with the 'coc-cola' trail to Toubkal and ended with the beauty and drama of the High Atlas at Jebel Mgoun.