Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18278 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    great trip thoroughly recommend it but don't underestimate the difficulty - its tough!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed the climb of Aneto  -  tough but absolutely fantastic!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guide was very knowledgable however she tended to keep pushing on and frequently left people some way behind. There was very little rest and she did not take account of the slower members of the group - at times it felt more like a route march for some people though i enjoyed the challenge!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't underestimate this trip its tough and you have to be fit to get to the top of Aneto but the scenery more than compensates!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A rest day before tackling Aneto would have helped some people. Six days walking with little rest plus two days of 13 hours back to back was very tiring!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    I'll never forget afternoon tea with my seven lovely ladies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the friendships and comararadarie that exsisted on the trip, the vital ingredients to this delicious cocktail were seven lovely ladies, Heidi, Caroline, Mickey, Nic, Jo, Louise & Helen that made afternoon tea a different and a way more pleasurable experience, the ten North Walians whose friendly humour always refreshed and the ebulient tour leaders Kim and Paul who always had the correct amount of cheer and professionism with all groups in all circumstances

    What did you think of your group leader?

    If prior to the  trip I had to describe the qualities a tour leader should have. Amongst other vital traits I would list  intelligence, proffesionalism, humour, compassion, efficiency, adaptability, reliability. This is not an exhaustive list of my requirements or the qualities Paul our Tour Leader displayed in abundance. I could not have wished more from a tour leader. Kim as the assistant was a beautifully natured lady who was a constant help and socialised and assisted with all members of the group with a very high degree of aplomb. On top of doing thier job brilliantly, I found them to be both good friends who could be relied upon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes book up as soon as possible

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Can you believe that in Oxford Caiprhinias are £4.50. I know a lady who can make a whole cooking pot full for that price.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Kracow - city of the future (and past)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Kracow was a vibrant city that three nights is not enough!. The wonderful mediaeval square(largest in Europe), the inspirational palace in Vavel Hill - going into it was similar to the feeling you get on the first view of St Peters Square in Rome; the Franciscan church was unbelievable modern stained glass windows, Kazimierz- the Jewish quarter and last but not least the emotional experience that a trip to Auschwitz brings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomek was great. His knowledge of the history of Poland was extensive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cities of Poland are beautiful but do not forget your umbrella in August
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It's only a ten minute walk and not very steep!!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Can't really decide!  It was a combination of a beautiful location, fantastic sights a great guide and a brilliant group of people!!! And of course topped by Maria's cooking!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent, very knowledgable.  He is obviously very passionate about this part of Spain!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would not hesitate to recommend this particular trip.  The cortijo is wonderful and you are made so welcome.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    wow - what a view

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on the cable cars and enjoying the amazing viewsMeeting the other group members

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tom was an excellent leader, friendly and professional.  He organised everything so we could relax and enjoy our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, having to take suitcases on and off the trains on each journey convinced us we had packed too many clothes. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus should include more of this type of holiday in their brochure.  We found that the we enjoyed the short walks and amazing scenery but we also liked to have time to relax.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    How could each day be better than the one before!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an amazing trip and we enjoyed every minute of it.  We were so well looked after every step of the way.The Masai Mara was so prolific with animals, we really didn't have to wait very long to see anything and to stay in the camp so close to the animals was a real pleasure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis and Charles were excellent.  They were articulate, well informed and fun.  Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a fantastic holiday but quite a lot of travelling if you have young children.  The roads are very bumpy and it is very difficult to read or sleep so the kids tended to plug into their i-pods.  I think it may not be the trip for the under 10's. (based only on the travelling, nothing else).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any interest in animals at all this trip is for you.  Chilling out in Zanzibar at the end was very necessary and welcome.The standard of the food throughout the trip was very high.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A relaxing week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yoga as the sun rose in the morning was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    none

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the first yoga holiday Exodus  had run in this location.  The location was perfect, the yoga was great  but for future trips the itinery needs to be less crowded and more time needs to be allocated for the yoga for the full benefits to be maximised!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A breathtaking trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is wonderful. Glaciers, blue sky and superb views of the Matterhorn from different altitudes, at different times of the day.  Somehow the very sight of the Matterhorn is inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Good leader. Huge knowledge of trekking and climbing. Easy to get on with.  Felt happy to ask anything.  Good knowledge of the history of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own slippers for the mountail huts

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zermatt is a very pleaant town. Lots to do when not walking. Good range of restaurants and shops. Lots of swiss army knives!  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It doesn't get any better than this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was a case of the overall experience being greater than the sum of its parts.    We were  taken on routes that were varied, challenging, strenuous and stunningly beautiful. We saw remarkable wildlife close up, fascinating geology and the ways in which humans have adapted the landscape for their own benefits.The pace of the walks was perfect with plenty of stops for catching up and taking food and water. Hazards were carefully explained and we were made to feel safe and secure at all times. We were provided with superb packed lunches: ham, egg, brie, basil, avocado and more all in fresh baguettes. Our base accommodation was perfect: friendly and relaxed hosts, tea and home made cake on our return from a hard day's walking. Outstanding food; Basque, Moroccan, Mediterranean. Hot showers and comfortable beds.A really great group atmosphere added to the overall experience. Brilliant and highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James was an outstanding leader. He got to know the group's capabilities and was able to provide us with suitably challenging routes. He must have gone out of his way to provide us with excellent lunches; I don't ever remember being given a brie and apple baguette before. James' approach was relaxed and friendly but professional and inspired confidence. His local knowledge gave us the opportunity to combine superb mountain scenery with the rewards of overcoming the physical demands involved.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you read and take heed of the trip notes there will be no problems. I used a high factor sun screen and would consider the use of walking poles to help with some of the knee-jarring descents.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderful scenery, so much space

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning to canoe on a big river with its currents

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, calm, patient, very able, great cook and a lovely person. Soon learnt english humor and words.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do expect serious wild camping, some did not

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local operator should have sent two guides for a party of 11 with 6 canoes.Exodus should not have said there would be washing and laundry facilities, there are none.