Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

49 Reviews

  • Reviewed May 2022

    A wonderful, friendly week in Sardinia

    We had an amazing week walking in stunning scenery, eating delicious food and enjoying the company of friendly and very generous locals. The walks have been tweaked so there is no longer an out and return by the same route. All the walks were interesting and gave an opportunity to see the beautiful vistas of this wild countryside. Our guide Michele was excellent and adapted the itinerary to suit the weather and the group.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the mountain with the mast on it and seeing the view from both sides of the mountain - a real Wow moment and a welcome breeze!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele made the trip extra special, listening to the group and always ready to assist if needed. The group definitely bonded with him and he adapted the trip to suit, for example adding an extra walk to the beach.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The hotel is comfortable and the staff make it special. The food they served was locally grown or produced. The wine is from the family vineyard and the cooking was excellent.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Dorgali

    Rather disappointing. Walks were limited in scope - two were out and back the same way - and restricted to an area not far from the hotel. Odd, considering a private coach was available. Admittedly the weather was not the best. The day of sightseeing was interesting, but it meant that there were only four walking days. Perhaps the sightseeing could be arranged for the "day off" as there is very little to do on one's one on a day off in Dorgali. Accommodation was good, as was the fare, though surprisingly meat-heavy. I would not recommend this trip in its present form.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good.
  • Reviewed April 2022

    Excellent week of walking

    A thoroughly enjoyable holiday in Sardinia. The scenery was beautiful, rugged mountains, deep gorges and immaculate white sandy beaches. We thought the variety of walks was great. The day of sight seeing type activities was brilliant, a chance to experience another aspect of this unspoilt destination. On our free day we did a boat trip to the Blu Marino cave from Cala Gonone which is highly recommended. The hotel is fairly simple but clean, comfortable and very welcoming, the staff are lovely. The food was tasty and supplied in plentiful quantities. Our guide Alexis was fantastic, he was good company full of local information & catered to the needs of the group brilliantly. We were fortunate to be accompanied by a friendly group of fellow travellers with whom we had lots of laughs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the beach trip - crystal clear turquoise water, white sand, blue sky, no crowds and a tasty barbecued sandwich.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Could not fault Alexis. Very friendly and knowledgeable, felt very safe in his hands.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    John Denyer

    Good way to see Sardinia

    A good varied walking itinerary in excellent weather, good way to see and experience Sardinia. The family run hotel was excellent and provided a good range of local cuisine.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scrambling walking route up to Tiscali

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was an excellent leader, very organised with good knowledge of Sardinia. He was also very good at accommodating the varied needs and walking abilities of members of the group. He responded well to provide an alternative walk when the sea conditions prevented us from landing along the coast on our final walk.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    geoff woods

    Sardininian walking holiday

    The bast holiday we have had with Explore or Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The boat trip and then walk back along the cliffs of Bay of Orosei and the bue/green Mediteranean

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wonderfully italian, great organisers, created a friendly environment, not good on Geography but that didnt matter

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its a great trip/ Maybe on the day off, walk to Casa Gonome by retracing the Sunday walk, and turning left out of the tunnel, going across the two scarp faces ahead of you and slowly down into the town (for a late lunch), get the bus back.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel really good. Food excellent. All walks/days full of activity
  • Reviewed May 2019
    CATHERINE LAMB

    Sardinia on foot

    A well planed and well lead interesting trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We enjoyed the archaeology and caves as a balance to the lovely walks. The mountain flowers were just as I hoped to see in the wild,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Knowledgeable and experienced, communicated well and demonstrated flexibility to account for changing weather.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take full bad weather gear this is hill country
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Diane Humphreys

    Walking in Sardinia

    We saw many historical and cultural aspects of Sardinia that were a complete surprise to us and these were a bonus. The planned walks were stunning in their scope and very ably led by Albert, our tour leader. The weather was variable and greatly impacted on the activities so re scheduling was necessary; having said that, we missed nothing in the end. Being flexible is part of travel.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the gorge and the cave after much scrambling over huge rocks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was trustworthy, physically very capable and knowledgeable and patient with a diverse group of walkers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack for all weathers and be prepared to work with the weather.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Liz Hesnan

    Good Varied hiking, but need to be fit for the scrambling involved

    Excellent , Confident and friendly leader who coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels Good food served by the hotel, I personally found the beds very hard! Shame about the weather, but not much anyone can do about that!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the cave was spectacular

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent friendly leader, felt very safe, and he coped well with a wide variety of fitness levels / and experience of the other hikers

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for all weathers, and assess your level of fitness to cope with the scrambling and uneven rocky hiking, and Some steepish climbs/descents
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Pippa C

    Walking in Sardinia

    The walk on the first day was cold and very windy and I was unsure what to expect - but after that we were lucky with perfect sunny weather. Every day was very different with some challenging walks and very interesting archaeology. The countryside was very green with colourful flowers and the sea very blue. The sea was pretty cold in early May but a brief swim was very refreshing in the clear water. The hotel was family run and very friendly with hot showers and homely food. Our leader Albert was great - although it would have been nice to have learned a bit more about Sardinian culture. Our group spanned 30 years in our ages - which made for a really good mix of people. I really enjoyed Sardinia and this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say. I loved Serra Orrios in its setting of olive trees - and also seeing a bee orchid!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Albert was excellent. It was nice to have some local guides at some sites too. And having wine and local cheeses at the small family vineyard of our minivan drivers was very welcome.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles were good with some steep ups and downs on coastal paths.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Derek Clarke

    A great holiday

    Sardinia proved to be a surprisingly beautiful island with good walks and a fabulous coast. The hotel is very good with excellent food and very friendly staff. We were blessed with great weather which I'm sure influenced my enjoyment. The group was also lovely but that's my experience almost every time with Exodus. If you happen to have Albert as your guide you will indeed be fortunate - a more caring, competent and sociable leader would be hard to find. Personally I would drop the 'tourist day', hence only four stars.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps the boat ride!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb.