Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2018
    Kath Singleton

    Treking in Croatia

    This was my first trip with Exodus & won't be my last (says it all really!) Good overview of many areas of Croatia - cities, National Parks, coastal towns.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the final days walking as it was just a little more challenging - I would have liked all the walks to have been longer as we were often finished by 3-4pm. As I went in May it was still Springtime, so the meadows & hedgerows were beautifully green with plenty of wild flowers to be found. The company was great & our Guide made sure we were all included in decision making for stops, meal out etc.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario was excellent - informative friendly, willing to walk at a sensible pace. Lots of interesting discussions during the day & at mealtimes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This was my first holiday on my own & I was understandably excited but a little apprehensive. I would have no problems going alone again. In our group we were all 'singles', but it didn't matter.It was well organised & meeting up with the Guide & the group was really easy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    On the day of departure we were not being picked up for the airport until 1.30pm. As we were in a small but beautiful coastal village there was not a lot to do, especially as we had been there 3 nights. Unfortunately in May the water was too cold for me! If I had realised earlier that we a long wait I would have arranged a boat trip or something similar. This is something that Exodus could consider as an option to fill the time/occupy a morning if there is a half day wait in a small place.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Catherine Clarke

    Fabulous holiday

    Booked this trip having previously been to Croatia and wanted to explore further. The trip was a great mix of walks, each with fabulous views followed by a refreshing dip in the sea and delicious food recommended by our guide Zeljko. There were also sightseeing oportunities in Dubrovnik and Split and a more relaxed stroll round the beautiful Krka waterfalls. We were a small friendly group of four plus our guide. There were lots of opportunities to chat with Zeljko about the walks, history and culture of his country. We also visited some local people for some grappa and figs. Travel between places was very well organised and we stayed in good accomodation in each place. As a vegetarian I was well looked after. Great food everywhere with Zeljko going out of his way to make sure I ate well.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the summits, particularly the Paklenica walks. Lunch at the mountain hut with spectacular views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. Warm, friendly and knowledgeable. On the long walks when it was really hot Zeljko made sure we all drank enough water (even providing extra when I didn't take enough on the first walk) and found shade for short breaks. Great company for the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't hesitate to book this trip. Croatia is a beautiful country and you get to see lots of fantastic places.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Nick Savage

    An amazing Croatia adventure

    This is an amazing trip with spectacular scenery and amazing history. It has great variety, with waterfalls, sea views, dramatic gorges and incredible limestone outcrops. On top of all of that, there is a wealth of history with Roman ruins, ancient Christian sites and abandoned farmhouses. The food is also excellent as are the interesting spirits you are offered with almost every meal! My personal favourite had to be the Herb Raki, but there are lots of choices!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sudden appearance of the dramatic view over the sea at the top of Vidova Gora.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It is impossible to put into words how excellent a leader Žarak is. As well as being very helpful and friendly and highly competent at leading the group, he has an almost inexhaustible supply of knowledge about the history of the region and seems to know all the locals. He made a great trip into an unforgettable one.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you like flowers and are going in April or May, you might want to take a Mediterranean flower book as there are so many flowers to see.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Jae Bond

    A fabulous holiday in a lovely country

    It's a full on itinerary so not much chill time, but we saw a lot of a very beautiful country in a short time. This was my first trip to Croatia but I'm pretty sure not my last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many wonderful moments, the views on the last 2 days walking in Paklenica National Park (especially from the mountain hut at lunch time...), the beauty of the waterfalls in Krka NP - though we were very lucky to be at the end of the season - apparently it is usually very crowded. Also having a beer on the terrace of our hotel - Pansion Andelko - in Starigrad, watching the sunset over the sea just yards away. Lovely wine and some ofthe best sea bass I've had!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zeljko is an excellent guide, he is fun, knowledgeable, helpful and passionate about Croatia. One of the best guides I've had on Exodus trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I don't often use walking poles, but I was very glad I had one with me on this trip as it helped a lot on the downhill parts of some of the walks. I would recommend the end of September as a time to go, we were lucky with our weather and it was nicely warm for all our walks and generally it was less crowded than other times of the summer. I would also recommend checking the flight times and think about booking your own. The trip feels very short otherwise as we got to our hotel at 10:30pm on day 1 and left at 5:00am on day 8!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walking varies a lot in grade which is nice from the waterfalls in Krka which is a nice stroll to the last 2 days which were much harder but this adds to the holiday. The landscapes and views are so different on each walk, all very beautiful and opened my eyes to a part of the world that I've never thought about visiting before. I'll be back.
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Paul Gofton

    Croatia Islands & Mountains

    Activity packed trip in the stunning Croatian Landscape Non stop loads to do and see

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking in Paklenica National Park through the limestone gorge (day 6 ). The initial trek was through a Beech woodland but gradually descended to a fantastic view of near vertical limestone cliffs used for rock climbing. Also the guided tour of Dubrovnik old Town and having the chance to walk on the Town walls

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zeljko was superb. He was proud of his country and had a wealth of knowledge about the areas we walked in. He was also courteous and kind I have been on around 10 Exodus trips and Zeljko is probably the best guide I have had. A real credit to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Think about making your own arrangements to and from Croatia. The flight times arranged by Exodus are suche that you will arrive after 10.00 pm local time on the Saturday and depart to the airport around 5.00 a.m. the following Saturday so the trip is really 6 days (Sunday to Friday). There are flights back from Zadar Saturday evening to Stanstead and Manchester with Ryanair and Zadar is only 45 mins from the last Hotel. May was a good time to go with loads of flowers out. I would think the July and August may be too hot for some

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I arrived early Exodus advised me that I should do my Dubrovnik Old Town sightseeing before the trip started , however there was sufficient time on the Sunday afternoon for a guided tour (which Zeljko arranged) which was great value for money. There is also time to walk on the walls. This is quite expensive but is purposefully priced high so as to try and deter the masses of cruise passengers. It is however well worth the money.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Jennifer Matthew

    Croatia: islands and mountains

    What a great week. Although the actual days of activity only number 6 you pack masses in, whilst still feeling unrushed. Food great, scenery stunning, guide brilliant, hotels comprehensive, Croatian people friendly, walks perfect. We just loved this holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Day 6 and achieving the extension walk having walked down through the gorge at the end of the Paklenica walk (a really great day already with an unexpected accordion-accompanied beer song sung by Zeliko, our hosts at the mountain hut, and another guide) we then had the option to do an extension walk. Some of the group went back in the mini bus whilst the rest of us carried on. This was a really challenging walk, with heights, scrambling over really sharp rocks/boulders, climbing steep areas, plus the additional distance, but that made it hugely rewarding once completed and a great end to the day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Zeliko is just a fab leader. Enthusiastic, friendly, knowledgeable and funny. A problem solver and smoother away of difficulties. He even produced Gaffa tape when my husband's boots started to fall apart!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking sticks - whilst my husband and I did not take or use sticks and managed very well without them, others in the group did find them hugely beneficial as the going can be rocky and unstable underfoot on many of the walks. Temperature - we went at th end of May and the temperature was generally lower to mid 20s (C), with some wind (very welcome) as you went higher. We had a very small amount of rain which rarely lasted long (We never used our waterproof trousers and I only used my coat once) . Some of the paths however are exposed and due to the rocky environment could create a very hot walking environment- in the summer this would be very hard going. Because of these varieties in temperature and conditions it is worth taking clothes to layer. Hats and sunglasses used daily. A good pair of boots is essential for the terrain. Money - exodus suggest a daily amount for food and drink but do take along more to pay for guided tours of Dubrovnik and Split. Having said that ATMs available everywhere and most places took cards.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Croatians are a really friendly people, with generally excellent English. Crime appears almost non- existent and certainly no sense of danger or threat...other than from other group member's walking poles!! The wild flowers and wildlife are just beautiful with huge variety in the flora and fauna as you go to different parts of Croatia. Sadly we never saw a bear, although a previous group has.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Olga Ushak

    Great - but not 8 days

    Guide: Zelko is the best guide you can have in the region! Transportation: great if you're about 5' tall - otherwise, leg room is a la Ryanair/Air Transat Itinerary: great - for 6 days. Trip starts on Day 2 (guide and most of the group arrive near midnight on "day 1") and ends at 6am on Day 8 (guide takes group to airport at 5am on "day 8").

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking up in the Paklenica mountains.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best.leader.ever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're going in July: it gets really (really) hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Should have spent 1 day in Paklenica, 1 day in Plitvice - instead of 2 days in Paklenica, at 30+ degrees temperatures.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Jean Harcourt

    Croatia islands and mountains sept 2016

    A memorable and very enjoyable holiday. We hesitated to book initially as we weren't sure about Croatia and almost booked an Italian trip but are now so glad we did. The guide was excellent and gave us a real insight into the country and its people. We loved the walks all came with excellent views and the scenery was far lovelier than we had expected it to be.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk in the Velika Paklenica national park and the stop for bean soup.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He made the holiday for us, he worked tirelessly always with our best interests at heart. An excellent communicator and a man who quickly became a friend.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking sticks might be useful as paths are a bit rocky.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Helen Tinsley

    Packed with activities

    Looking back it is amazing how much we packed in. Dubrovnik was very touristy and crowded but worth visiting. Great meal fish at the Moby Dick. Hotel Sumratin room ok but breakfast bad go to a cafe instead! Great walking with views. Brac very picturesque. Beach quite crowded with a sea gym feature. We got the boat back to the old town recommended. Split just enough time to see the basics and then onto Krka which is also crowded. Starigrad Paklenica in a beautiful walking area with limestone rocks. Hotel the best of the three. If you are flying later( to Manchester via Ryanair) definitely worth to beautiful Zadar. Worth waiting to book transport to the airport to see how many going later and can book taxi locally via the guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last day with the walk up to The Doorstep overlooking the sea surrounded by limestone rock formations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Good sense of humour and lots of fun. Helped us rearranging taxis to Zadar on the last day. Carried my case at the last hotel preserving my knees for the walk!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See advice about booking taxis above.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Owens

    Croatia: Islands & Mountains

    The guide Zeljko was excellent, good knowledge, excellent personality and sense of humour. His recommendation for restaurant in Dubrovnik was one of the best fish meals I have tasted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say, the swimming pool! (In joke)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent (see Summary)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was hot. August trip suited my calendar and not usual for me to travel to Europe at that time so only myself to blame. However, the sea or swimming pool did provide welcome relief at the end of the day.
Call us on 020 8772 3936