Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Hugh Stronge

    Bosnia hertz walk

    Very good, particularly impressed by ou magnificent guide Kanaan who spoke English perfectly, was passionate about his country, informative and balanced when describing recent conflict,great with people and made time for everyone. This is a good trip and appropriately rates in terms of challenge presented

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cannot rate highly enough

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just our thanks. Would be nice to see more younger people - are there options for a more budget/roughing it experience?
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jill Kilpatrick

    Beautiful Bosnia

    Yet again Exodus has offered an amazing package. The best guides, the best views and the best locations. The Bosnian mountains are stunning and the local people are so welcoming.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the highest peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was fantastic. The group gave him a couple of challenges and he was so calm and sorted everything out. Bring toiletries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring toiletries. Bosnian hotels do not supply anything bar hand soap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great mixture of culture and hiking.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Marion Neale

    A beautiful country

    Bosnia & Herzegovina is a really beautiful country with stunning mountain scenery. Although I'm not usually a fan of cities, all 3 cities visited on this trip were well worth a visit. The mountains were also lovely and quiet, no hoards of tourists everywhere, in fact we hardly met another person on any of the walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many but the highlights were the ascent of Maglic Mountain and the river rafting.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our leaders, Kenan and Branko, were excellent. They were happy to share their extensive knowledge of the areas we visited. They were both humorous and engaged brilliantly with the whole group. They were very well organised, very safety conscious and always put in the effort to make sure the trip was thoroughly enjoyable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for quite a few hours in the minibus as the transfers are often quite long and the roads can be winding. The ascent of Maglic Mountain is a long day with some steepish sections of scrambling/via ferrata but well worth the effort as it is a very rewarding hike. The steep sections were not difficult but if anyone has not experienced this type of terrain before they'll find it more challenging than a regular mountain path. Take insect repellent, a couple of sections of walking had quite a few midges/mozzies! You can easily change up Bosnian currency once you arrive - there was an ATM and a currency exchange very close to the first night's hotel in Trebinje. There is a lot to fit in to 9 days but you do get to see a lot of Bosnia in that time and it is well worth visiting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was very moving to see so many cemeteries, a poignant reminder of the war in the early '90's but this is a beautiful country that deserves to be visited.
  • breathtaking scenery

    I really enjoyed this trip. Both the guide (Kenan) and the assistant guide (Branko) contributed a lot to this and ensured everything was going smoothly and were listening to the group as well as the individual's requests and tried to accommodate to those requests as much as possible. In summary, excellent guides, very good group as well as good weather. What else could I ask for?! ;) Good weather is important since on a rainy day the climb to the various summits would not be possible as the terrain would be too slippery and quite dangerous. Bosnia & Herzegovina is a beautiful country with breathtaking scenery. The image of walking through the green meadows covered with variety of wild flowers and surrounded by high mountains will always stay with me and just the thought of it will give me positive energy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - Hiking through the beautiful meadows covered with varieties of wild flowers surrounded by high mountains. - Having homemade cheese and potato pie and coffee in Lukomir village made by a local lady. - Arriving at Maglic summit and looking at the breathtaking scenery all around us. - Our guide (Kenan) showing us a personal family album and telling us about his family's contribution towards preserving the national park. - The assistant guide (Branko) explaining about various plants and flowers and mushrooms.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kenan was an excellent guide in spite of being so young. He was full of energy and passionate about his country as well as the nature. His family was in Sarajevo during the siege and he shared with us their experience during that time which provided me a deeper understanding of the history of this beautiful country. The day after the summit he showed us the old family album and how his family specially his grandfather contributed to the Sutjeska national park and the summit. Hearing all these and looking at those old photos was very touching. Branko, the assistant guide was as good as Kenan. They were both lively and energetic and were good friends and both were passionate about hiking/nature/history/etc. Even though Branko is a very adventurous person and does quite dangerous activities in his personal time, when it came to us, he was very caring and considerate and was always alert and aware of our safety. What I enjoyed most about Branko was his passion for nature and the desire to share his knowledge with us. Walking alongside him, you could see his eyes were looking around and then he would point out a unique flower or plant or mushroom and tell you all about it. :)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The summit day can be demanding so ensure you are fit enough before the trip. Also there are sections where you have to use both hands and feet ;) , so once again make sure you are aware of this before you sign up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would definitely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gina Kramer

    Already Planning my Return with Exodus

    Have you ever connected so deeply with a country, you couldn't put it into words? That's how I felt about Bosnia and Herzegovina. As an avid traveler, it's one of the few places with which I felt a bond this strong. Perhaps that's due to the nature of this tour -- you get a taste of various cities across the country, experiencing different energies and landscapes along the way. The one thing that remained consistent was the beautiful people and invigorating culture. Of course, the focus of this trip is the outdoors. I was happy to see the level of difficulty exceeded my expectations; it was more hiking and climbing (and even included a surprise via ferrata route!) than scenic "strolling" which is what I had envisioned -- still, it's fit for those who only hike occasionally. Overall, the trip was a nice balance of active/offbeat adventure (the majority) and opportunities to soak up the culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    During our time in Sarajevo, before our trek to Lukomir, we hiked to that top of a mountain that played a role in the Bosnian War. Our guides were both children at the time of the war, and shared their stories with us -- not negatively, but in an inspiring, positive tone. It was something we needed to hear, from a locals' perspective, to fully grasp the past and understand the present... how it all started, what life was like during the time, how it ended and how far they've overcome and continue to grow from it. It was a powerful, emotional and beautiful moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Eldar, was a perfect leader. He established an open foundation for communication early on, which was a nice ice breaker for the group. He's fun, humorous, caring and accommodating ... the list goes on. His assistant, Nedim, also contributed to our group's incredible experience -- they're personalities meshed really well together; by the end of the trip, we all felt like family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring sleeping pills to knock you out the first few days -- the beginning of the trip is the most active/exhausting. You'd think all the hiking/climbing would wear you out, but a few of us actually found it to raise our adrenaline and keep us up at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus is amazing. Bosnia and Herzegovina is breathtaking. And I can't wait to do both again. :)
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Scott Brohinsky

    Walking in Bosnia and Herzegovina

    Great trip with outstanding hiking and informative city visits. Leader was exceptional with excellent support staff. An authentic and exhilarating hiking and cultural experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the peak of Mt. Magic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a knowledgeable, professional and caring leader. His knowledge of the mountains was vast and love of Bosnia was inspirational. It was a pleasure and an honor to participate with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for changing weather conditions that are likely to occur in the mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We also appreciated the wonderful and interesting traveling companions.
  • Reviewed September 2016

    Everything you want in a hiking trip and much much more!

    This was my first trip to this part of the world and went with an open mind regarding the turbulent recent history of the country but what I found was a wonderfully warm, hospitable and friendly country with no hangover from the past. The walking was truly wonderful with spectacular views wherever you looked, from the magnificent Sutjeska national park where Bosnia's highest mountain (Maglic) resides along with some wonderful ancient forests to the mountains around Sarajevo and the visit to Bosnia's highest inhabited village (1469m). Walking in the Bosnian mountains really is a hidden gem and something anyone that enjoys walking should do before the world finds out about this. The city trips of both Sarajevo and Mostar were equally a great part of the trip and both city guides were not only informative and knowledgeable but also warm, friendly and answered every question that was put to them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the inhabitants of the country's highest inhabited village and having lunch that they kindly prepared for us, the walk to the village was truly spectacular with stunning views wherever you looked, the friendliness and unassuming nature of the villagers was indeed inspirational as it is a tough life living off the land and I can imagine that the winters can be harsh and long!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a wonderful leader, his knowledge of the mountains was second to none and he looked after the group with patience and encouragement throughout, even on some of the more arduous climbs. He was more than just a leader though, he was a historian always happy to answer any question the group might have, he was an interpreter when we had problems getting out requests across to the locals and at times he was a comedian with his own brand of humour!....... if you get Samer as your guide you can be reassured that you will be in safe hands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is rather strenuous and a fair bit tougher than we have in the UK but it is easily done with anyone that is a regular walker and the views more than make up for the effort!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bosnia is a wonderful and diverse country and really is somewhere to visit before the "secret" get out!.... Sarajevo is a wonderful city and somewhere I would go back again to spend more time in, Mostar has its own natural beauty beside the famous bridge, with its rich history and narrow cobbled streets. One great upside of Bosnia is the cost of living, dinner with wine or beer would not be much more than about 20marka (£10) and I bought the whole group (15 of us) an ice cream in Sarajevo and still had change from £10... If there was a downside in Bosnia it is that they still allow smoking in restaurants, cafes and bars but this should not distract you from visiting this wonderful country and the air in the mountains is unpolluted and smoke free!!... I cannot recommend this trip highly enough.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Katherine Davies

    Variety and challenge

    Apart from hiking there is a big emphasis on getting to know the history of the area, which I really appreciated. Bosnia is a beautiful and friendly country and you will enjoy getting to know it better. We found local people really keen to talk, even if we didn't share many words. We enjoyed really perfect weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, by far, was the rafting. A glorious day, peaceful and a little bit different. Working as a team was fun. I enjoyed the walks and the city tours too. We enjoyed eating out in the evening with the group. The town at the top of the hill was very interesting and I enjoyed talking to the people who lived there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, but he failed to keep the group together sufficiently during the hikes which was unfortunate. Other Exodus leaders worked harder to be inclusive. Other than that he was very nice, enthusiastic, well organised and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practice walking up hills. I used a much smaller pack than suggested which was just fine. The two star hotels are adequate - however we didn't always have hot water. Coffee is really important and generally delicious.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food always includes both cheese and meat, and not much in the way of vegetables/salad. It can be heavy and creamy. It is generally good. We felt the restaurant in Dubrovnik was a rip off.
  • Walking in Bosnia

    Fine walking in a very interesting part of Europe. Lots of turbulent history! But now peaceful and accommodating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day on Maglic. "Entertaining" climb to the top. A very steep descent down scree to a tranquil green lake. Once at the water it really seemed like paradise. Sarajevo is a great city. Standing at the waters edge in Mostar at night. Looking up at the iconic re-built bridge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar and Kenan were exceptionally good Very knowledgable. Friendly. The best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather in June was blisteringly hot. Take suitable protection.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great country. Ignore the past troubles. You will enjoy it.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Pam Peers

    Superb and varied trip in beautiful mountains and historic cities

    This was our first trip to the Balkans and we were amazed how much we were able to see in just over a week. The country has recovered exceptionally well from a very tumultuous recent history, and we felt inspired by the warmth and enthusiasm of all the BiH people we met. The countryside is pristine, with absolutely no pollution, and the walking very varied and interesting. We all loved Sarejevo and Mostar, both fascinating and sophisticated cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire group of 15 reached the summit of Maglic. The ascent included a challenging stretch just below the summit, including some scrambling and a short stretch of via ferrata, but with guidance and support from the guides we all managed this without difficulty. Watching Euro football matches in the open air Fanzone in central Sarejevo was a great experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar was brilliant at everything. It would be difficult to find anyone who knows the mountains better, he's a great team leader, all the arrangements worked like clockwork, his communication was clear and unambiguous, and he was very patient with our constant questions (as none of us spoke any of the local languages). There appeared to be no problem he couldn't solve, including repairing my sunglasses, very professionally, when the lens fell out!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as possible before you go so that you can really enjoy the superb walking on this trip. Maglic is a bit of a challenge but more than worth the effort ... Take insect repellent as the pristine, unspoilt countryside is not at all polluted by insecticides. Don't be put off by this - it's beautiful with wonderful wild flowers everywhere. BiH gets very warm - take light clothes and plenty of sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a superb trip and I'd advise anyone to do it
Call us on 020 8772 3936