Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gina Kramer

    Already Planning my Return with Exodus

    Have you ever connected so deeply with a country, you couldn't put it into words? That's how I felt about Bosnia and Herzegovina. As an avid traveler, it's one of the few places with which I felt a bond this strong. Perhaps that's due to the nature of this tour -- you get a taste of various cities across the country, experiencing different energies and landscapes along the way. The one thing that remained consistent was the beautiful people and invigorating culture. Of course, the focus of this trip is the outdoors. I was happy to see the level of difficulty exceeded my expectations; it was more hiking and climbing (and even included a surprise via ferrata route!) than scenic "strolling" which is what I had envisioned -- still, it's fit for those who only hike occasionally. Overall, the trip was a nice balance of active/offbeat adventure (the majority) and opportunities to soak up the culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    During our time in Sarajevo, before our trek to Lukomir, we hiked to that top of a mountain that played a role in the Bosnian War. Our guides were both children at the time of the war, and shared their stories with us -- not negatively, but in an inspiring, positive tone. It was something we needed to hear, from a locals' perspective, to fully grasp the past and understand the present... how it all started, what life was like during the time, how it ended and how far they've overcome and continue to grow from it. It was a powerful, emotional and beautiful moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Eldar, was a perfect leader. He established an open foundation for communication early on, which was a nice ice breaker for the group. He's fun, humorous, caring and accommodating ... the list goes on. His assistant, Nedim, also contributed to our group's incredible experience -- they're personalities meshed really well together; by the end of the trip, we all felt like family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring sleeping pills to knock you out the first few days -- the beginning of the trip is the most active/exhausting. You'd think all the hiking/climbing would wear you out, but a few of us actually found it to raise our adrenaline and keep us up at night!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus is amazing. Bosnia and Herzegovina is breathtaking. And I can't wait to do both again. :)
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Scott Brohinsky

    Walking in Bosnia and Herzegovina

    Great trip with outstanding hiking and informative city visits. Leader was exceptional with excellent support staff. An authentic and exhilarating hiking and cultural experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the peak of Mt. Magic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a knowledgeable, professional and caring leader. His knowledge of the mountains was vast and love of Bosnia was inspirational. It was a pleasure and an honor to participate with him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for changing weather conditions that are likely to occur in the mountains.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We also appreciated the wonderful and interesting traveling companions.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    David Strachan

    Everything you want in a hiking trip and much much more!

    This was my first trip to this part of the world and went with an open mind regarding the turbulent recent history of the country but what I found was a wonderfully warm, hospitable and friendly country with no hangover from the past. The walking was truly wonderful with spectacular views wherever you looked, from the magnificent Sutjeska national park where Bosnia's highest mountain (Maglic) resides along with some wonderful ancient forests to the mountains around Sarajevo and the visit to Bosnia's highest inhabited village (1469m). Walking in the Bosnian mountains really is a hidden gem and something anyone that enjoys walking should do before the world finds out about this. The city trips of both Sarajevo and Mostar were equally a great part of the trip and both city guides were not only informative and knowledgeable but also warm, friendly and answered every question that was put to them.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the inhabitants of the country's highest inhabited village and having lunch that they kindly prepared for us, the walk to the village was truly spectacular with stunning views wherever you looked, the friendliness and unassuming nature of the villagers was indeed inspirational as it is a tough life living off the land and I can imagine that the winters can be harsh and long!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a wonderful leader, his knowledge of the mountains was second to none and he looked after the group with patience and encouragement throughout, even on some of the more arduous climbs. He was more than just a leader though, he was a historian always happy to answer any question the group might have, he was an interpreter when we had problems getting out requests across to the locals and at times he was a comedian with his own brand of humour!....... if you get Samer as your guide you can be reassured that you will be in safe hands!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walking is rather strenuous and a fair bit tougher than we have in the UK but it is easily done with anyone that is a regular walker and the views more than make up for the effort!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bosnia is a wonderful and diverse country and really is somewhere to visit before the "secret" get out!.... Sarajevo is a wonderful city and somewhere I would go back again to spend more time in, Mostar has its own natural beauty beside the famous bridge, with its rich history and narrow cobbled streets. One great upside of Bosnia is the cost of living, dinner with wine or beer would not be much more than about 20marka (£10) and I bought the whole group (15 of us) an ice cream in Sarajevo and still had change from £10... If there was a downside in Bosnia it is that they still allow smoking in restaurants, cafes and bars but this should not distract you from visiting this wonderful country and the air in the mountains is unpolluted and smoke free!!... I cannot recommend this trip highly enough.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Katherine Davies

    Variety and challenge

    Apart from hiking there is a big emphasis on getting to know the history of the area, which I really appreciated. Bosnia is a beautiful and friendly country and you will enjoy getting to know it better. We found local people really keen to talk, even if we didn't share many words. We enjoyed really perfect weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, by far, was the rafting. A glorious day, peaceful and a little bit different. Working as a team was fun. I enjoyed the walks and the city tours too. We enjoyed eating out in the evening with the group. The town at the top of the hill was very interesting and I enjoyed talking to the people who lived there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was good, but he failed to keep the group together sufficiently during the hikes which was unfortunate. Other Exodus leaders worked harder to be inclusive. Other than that he was very nice, enthusiastic, well organised and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Practice walking up hills. I used a much smaller pack than suggested which was just fine. The two star hotels are adequate - however we didn't always have hot water. Coffee is really important and generally delicious.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food always includes both cheese and meat, and not much in the way of vegetables/salad. It can be heavy and creamy. It is generally good. We felt the restaurant in Dubrovnik was a rip off.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Kevin Wallace

    Walking in Bosnia

    Fine walking in a very interesting part of Europe. Lots of turbulent history! But now peaceful and accommodating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The day on Maglic. "Entertaining" climb to the top. A very steep descent down scree to a tranquil green lake. Once at the water it really seemed like paradise. Sarajevo is a great city. Standing at the waters edge in Mostar at night. Looking up at the iconic re-built bridge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar and Kenan were exceptionally good Very knowledgable. Friendly. The best!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The weather in June was blisteringly hot. Take suitable protection.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great country. Ignore the past troubles. You will enjoy it.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Pam Peers

    Superb and varied trip in beautiful mountains and historic cities

    This was our first trip to the Balkans and we were amazed how much we were able to see in just over a week. The country has recovered exceptionally well from a very tumultuous recent history, and we felt inspired by the warmth and enthusiasm of all the BiH people we met. The countryside is pristine, with absolutely no pollution, and the walking very varied and interesting. We all loved Sarejevo and Mostar, both fascinating and sophisticated cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The entire group of 15 reached the summit of Maglic. The ascent included a challenging stretch just below the summit, including some scrambling and a short stretch of via ferrata, but with guidance and support from the guides we all managed this without difficulty. Watching Euro football matches in the open air Fanzone in central Sarejevo was a great experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar was brilliant at everything. It would be difficult to find anyone who knows the mountains better, he's a great team leader, all the arrangements worked like clockwork, his communication was clear and unambiguous, and he was very patient with our constant questions (as none of us spoke any of the local languages). There appeared to be no problem he couldn't solve, including repairing my sunglasses, very professionally, when the lens fell out!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get as fit as possible before you go so that you can really enjoy the superb walking on this trip. Maglic is a bit of a challenge but more than worth the effort ... Take insect repellent as the pristine, unspoilt countryside is not at all polluted by insecticides. Don't be put off by this - it's beautiful with wonderful wild flowers everywhere. BiH gets very warm - take light clothes and plenty of sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a superb trip and I'd advise anyone to do it
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Charlotte Lacy

    Fantastic trip to a stunnning country!

    This is another great Exodus trip which we thoroughly enjoyed. We decided to go to Bosnia on our honeymoon and it was a great decision. The country is stunningly beautiful and has so many hidden gems. The countryside is incredible and you barely see another person on the small tracks that you walk along. Each city brings a lovely contrast to the walking. They are unusual and fascinating places to visit. Definitely recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights to this holiday it's hard to single anything out. All of the walks offered amazing views and each city had it's own story to tell. We had a preconceived idea of Sarajevo from the images of the war many years ago. However it is an incredible city which is so full of history and has been beautifully rebuilt. The old city is fascinating to wander around and seeing so many different cultures and religions living side by side without conflict was impressive! A must see city for anybody!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was a fantastic leader. His passion about bringing tourism to Bosnia and allowing people to see the beauty of his country was so clear to see. He showed us around brilliantly and was a lovely man who made everyone feel valued.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep an open mind throughout the trip and be prepared for the basic accommodation in the National Park. It's completely as described as the rooms are pretty old but the views are stunning and a dip in the swimming pool nearby is a must (although it is pretty damn COLD! Be prepared for some long hours on the little bus as many of the walks can be quite far from where you're staying. Bosnian mountain roads aren't very well maintained but our driver was particularly skilled and determined at getting up them :)
  • Reviewed October 2015
    Kathy Ombler

    Walking in Bosnia-Herzegovina

    A seven day walking trip starting/finishing in Dubrovnik, visiting Sutjeska National Park, Sarajevo, Neretva river canyon and Mostar. The trip encompassed a mix of strenuous and easy day walks, visiting a remote mountain village, and exploring and understanding the volatile history of the country. An overall highlight was discovering the beauty of the landscape - so many mountains, forests, lakes and rivers. Accommodation ranged from the basic, Socialist-era style hotel in Sutjeska National Park (though perfectly comfortable and adequate), to the small, comfortable and more modern hotels in Trebinje, Sarajevo and Mostar. Travel was in a 12 seater van, driven by the personable Gvard, from Sarajevo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing Mt Maglic, Bosnia's highest peak. Walking to and being hosted for lunch in the remote mountain village of Lukomir, near Sarajevo. Sharing the knowledge and experiences of our guides, Samer and Eldar, both in the mountains and their times as teenagers living in the Siege of Sarajevo. Learning about the complicated and volatile history.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer is one of the most inspirational trip leaders I have had the pleasure to travel with. Passionate about his country and its mountains, knowledgeable and open minded about the history, organised and professional, patient, caring, gentle and a tricky sense of humour. Co-guide Eldar also shared his love of the mountains - he is also a keen rock climber, mountain biker and part of the mountain rescue team, so we felt more than confident! Also helpful, going out of his way to show some of us find Sarajevo's specialist biking and sporting shops.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect any pillow menus - however this is five star tour for what it offers in discovering a beautiful country, still recovering from a tragic recent history.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Victoria Adnitt

    Fascinating and rewarding holiday.

    A thoroughly rewarding and fascinating insight into the rich history and geography of BH. As a trekker of limited experience but average fitness I found the walks challenging but well within my limits to complete thanks to the expert guidance given. The routes planned by our excellent guide Samer showed us the vast range of climates, ecology and history of the region-within one day we went from a Mediterranean climate to a alpine and back again! Every day was packed full and every aspect well organised. A fantastic mix of rural walking, a couple of interesting city tours and even a day of rafting. I highly recommend this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was so different and so packed full it is hard to pick out one moment but probably reaching the summit of Maglić having beaten the looming storm!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer along with his colleague Dino was faultless as a guide. Their, humour, knowledge and enthusiasm for BH made the trip. Every aspect was planned in-depth from the treks to booking lunches/dinners for the group; we were made to feel very looked-after throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for all weather. During August we arrived at the end of a lengthy heatwave but still experienced frequent showers-some heavy. If you get travel sick just be aware that some of the minibus travel is through bumpy and windy roads; most journeys about an hour via minibus to the start of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I highly recommend the optional rafting trip- it gave a great perspective of the gorge with a dramatic landscape and crystal clear waters as a backdrop. The route is mostly very gentle with a few small rapids just big enough to make it exciting but not too big to distract from the scenery; plus with a good 4/5 hour trip including cooked lunch of fresh fish at the end it is amazing value.
  • Reviewed August 2015
    David Tuckett

    Bosnia and Herzogovina - Walking

    Overall an excellent trip with a good combination of walking and cultural sights. The scenery is magnificent and unspoilt. The rafting was great fun down the Neretva river through gorges and over rapids. Sarajevo is a most interesting city and the people in Bosnia Herzegovina were very friendly.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Maglic Mountain felt like a real achievement but the most moving part of the trip was seeing the evidence of the recent Balkan war and hearing some personal stories from the leaders. They brought the conflict alive in a way that is not achievable by films or the written word.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eldar was very calm and capable and he coped with every situation. He was exceptionally good at managing people and had a fun dry sense of humour. His knowledge about the history of the country added a rich dimension to the trip. Benjamin - the assistant guide was full of energy and good humour but when necessary he was supportive and patient. Both guides were very safety conscious. I have been on many group trips and they have been amongst the best leaders that I have encountered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Day 3 is a long arduous hike - much more strenous than the other days. If you have any doubts about your ability have a rest day. Note that there is quite a lot of time spent on the bus travelling to and from the start and end of the walks and between the various overnight stops

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Visit this unspoilt part of Europe. There is a great variety of scenery, interesting towns and cities plus a rich history.
Call us on 020 8772 3936