Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2019
    Helen French

    Hiking in Beautiful Slovenia-don't miss it.

    Slovenia is friendly place with unspoilt scenery in the lakes and mountains of the Julian Alps. The group of 15 members of wide age range from UK,USA and Canada gelled really quickly Five days of varied walks including low level at lake Bled and two different mountain ascents to 1800m and 2000m. All at a steady pace and achieved by all the group members. We had hearty soups and delicious strudels at rustic mountain refuges. The base in Radovljica was central family run hotel conveniently located in the old town.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the hill on the Poljuka Plateau with views of Triglav mountain and into Austria.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Katija and Alaj were a great team both with good sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some hiking in your local hills before you do the trip.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Gordon Brown

    Lakes & Mountains of Slovenia

    Brilliant walking holiday (my first with Exodus) with some challenging walks and a group of 15 that got on so well with each other.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of BRDA with spectacular views of the Julian Alps

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders who were highly professional and experts in their field.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Put your trust in the walk leaders and you will not go wrong.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jacky Wilson

    Beautiful country

    Slovenia is beautiful - clean, green, unspoilt, with beautiful lakes, waterfalls and mountains. The hotel is great with excellent evening meals and lovely views.Rooms are spacious with a really good shower and comfortable bed. The staff are very friendly. Radovljica is an excellent base for the week - the old town is pretty with a few decent restaurants, an ice cream shop (!) and regular buses to Bled, Ljubljana etc. Buses are cheap.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing to the viewpoint above Lake Bled and taking in that stunning view. Admiring the thundering waterfalls and flower-filled meadows

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bugy and Aleš were expert mountain guides and a good laugh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A short city break in Ljubljana before the week’s walking starts is highly recommended - say from the Thursday. You’ll be too tired afterwards! Take poles! If you can fit in two pairs, both lightweight shoes and boots with ankle support are useful. Boots are essential. The easy (lake) walks really are easy and the harder (mountain) walks really are hard, harder than other Level 3 holidays I have been on. Three of the walks aren’t great if you’re not good with heights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was quite expensive compared to other holidays as no picnics were provided and only 3 dinners. On all other Exodus holidays, We have had picnics provided. Mountain huts serve soup, or soup, or soup and you’ll pay around €10 for, er, soup - and a drink. I guess the idea is to support the guys running the mountain huts, which is fine, but beware the additional budget needed. I really wish the hardest walk wasn’t planned for the last day on Exodus trips. ! By the last day people are a little tired and may be carrying a few niggling aches and pains. An easier day to wind down would be better.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Karla Bascaran

    Slovenia mountain and lakes

    Very beautiful nice hikes would rather not have rest day trip to short.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Slovenia is a very beautiful country very clean

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No rest day
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mary Bambrough

    A clean, green, mountainous country.

    Loved the airy, uncrowded mountain walks with profuse meadow flowers and views of rocky pinnacles. The two lakes were also incredibly picturesque and not spoilt. We enjoyed the family-run accommodation, food and wine as well. The day in Ljubljana was enjoyable (despite pouring rain) but I personally enjoyed the small town with its church, old houses, bee-keeping museum, wine merchant and ice cream parlour just as much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Suddenly coming upon a fabulous mountain view after a steep walk up through meadows.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two very assured and competent leaders. They knew their patch very well. I felt I was in safe hands at all times whether they were leading walks or driving us, and when they suggested a variation to a walk they were right. They also had a good sense of humour. They worked hard at the various huts, taking our orders and bringing them, to avoid potential language problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are not difficult overall in terms of length and terrain, but do be prepared for some steep gradients from time to time on the mountain days. They are well worth it but require quite a lot of puff!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We particularly liked the recommended wine-tasting with ham and cheese-board at the local wine merchant.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Peter Norris

    Slovenia - yes; Exodus - maybe

    This was part of a first trip to Slovenia. I'd definitely return. Whether I'd go with Exodus is another matter. The pluses: the base (Radovljica) is a very pleasant town. I'm glad we were there rather than Bled, which is on the cusp of getting over-touristed. The hotel (to which we were transferred three days before the holiday) was good (probably better than the first choice). Generally, I liked the food. Less good: I was a little disappointed with the balance of the walks (though because I was unwell I ducked out of one day that might have been spectacular). Two waterfall walks were pleasant but rather similar to each other. A walk around Lake Bled was taken in the company of hundreds of others. I'd have liked at least one day walking from the hotel rather than driving to somewhere allegedly more spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing chamois at nearly 2000 metres. Or maybe they were ibex. We asked one of our guides which they were but, rather than taking a dozen steps and looking at them, she asked whether they had long horns. Subsequent research indicates that female ibex and chamois have similar horns.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders. They led us efficently, sorted out lunchtime bills without fuss, were prompt and personable. They obviously have a great love for Slovenia and nature, but what I found frustrating in retrospect is that they said very little about the flora and landscape we were walking through, and the animals and birds we might see. Possibly this is a language issue, though their English was good (and, of course, far better than anybody's Slovenian).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We joined the holiday at the end of a week's cycling in Slovenia. We had liaiased with the Exodus office to ensure that we arrived in time for the introductory briefing, which necessitated leaving the Slovenian coast earlier than we might have otherwise. We were told the briefing would be at 7.30. We arrived in the dining room for the briefing at 7.10, to find everyone else seated, waiting for their first course, the briefing over. Not a great way to start, and easily avoidable as we'd been at our hotel since 3 pm. We were asked to be ready for the minibus at 8.30 or 9 each day. Sometimes the activity was finished by 3 pm. I'd have been happy with an earlier start and finish. This didn't seem to be negotiable.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Pauline leeson

    A country of mountains, lakes and rivers

    good walking. great company. we had lovely weather although it does rain a lot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in Lake Bled and everyone making it to the top of the mountain on the last day. Priceless!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Budgie and Alex were excellent. very experienced walkers. gave us all a lot of confidence in their ability to lead the group and keep everyone safe. there were also a lot of laughs. great skill at helping group to gel ad get the best out of everyone regardless of their ability. We also had lessons on the geography, history, politics and culture of Slovenia. immensely enjoyable and very interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    get yourself fit so that you get the most out of the walking. and bring a swimming costume.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    beautiful green country. go there before it is spoilt!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Neil Rank

    Another excellent Exodus holiday

    Slovenia is a lovely country with lovely people - helpful and friendly. I can but pass on the advice given to me which was “go before it gets too popular”. An important factor in making the holiday is the Leaders and the Group. In both instances they were excellent. Walks are well planned and whilst some previous posts have commented re lunching in restaurants rather than a packed lunch, I preferred the former, which, with one exception, are not restaurants but mountain lodges. All helps the local economy. Weather can be changeable but aside from our Lake Bled day, we enjoyed good weather. When it rains, it rains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the ridge which marks the Border between Slovenia and Austria. The trip to the capital on the free day is also very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two Bugy (or Boogie Woogie as he is more affectionately known) and Alesh. Both are excellent guides with a great sense of humour. Very attentive and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go before the country gets discovered. Be prepared for changeable weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is good - no frills but clean with friendly staff - but the Wi-Fi can be a bit frustrating as the weather can impact on its reliability.
  • Reviewed November 2016

    Lakes and Mountainsee trip

    This was my first Exodus trip and I loved it! The guides were hilarious, friendly and knowledgeable. The accommodation had amazing views, good food and cheap booze. The walks were all different and had breathtaking views. I never realised how beautiful Slovenia is. I would fully recommend this trip if you like walking, good food and good views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the lakes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Caroline Convery

    Slovenia walking

    Relaxing and enjoyable walking in Slovenia although would have preferred only one day of walking on the flat around a lake rather than two. Accommodation good but surprised all lunches taken in restaurants and not as a packed lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ridge walk Meeting my fellow walkers - all lovely people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very friendly and pleasant
Call us on 020 8772 3936