Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2018
    Karla Bascaran

    Slovenia mountain and lakes

    Very beautiful nice hikes would rather not have rest day trip to short.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Slovenia is a very beautiful country very clean

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No rest day
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Mary Bambrough

    A clean, green, mountainous country.

    Loved the airy, uncrowded mountain walks with profuse meadow flowers and views of rocky pinnacles. The two lakes were also incredibly picturesque and not spoilt. We enjoyed the family-run accommodation, food and wine as well. The day in Ljubljana was enjoyable (despite pouring rain) but I personally enjoyed the small town with its church, old houses, bee-keeping museum, wine merchant and ice cream parlour just as much.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Suddenly coming upon a fabulous mountain view after a steep walk up through meadows.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two very assured and competent leaders. They knew their patch very well. I felt I was in safe hands at all times whether they were leading walks or driving us, and when they suggested a variation to a walk they were right. They also had a good sense of humour. They worked hard at the various huts, taking our orders and bringing them, to avoid potential language problems.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are not difficult overall in terms of length and terrain, but do be prepared for some steep gradients from time to time on the mountain days. They are well worth it but require quite a lot of puff!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We particularly liked the recommended wine-tasting with ham and cheese-board at the local wine merchant.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Peter Norris

    Slovenia - yes; Exodus - maybe

    This was part of a first trip to Slovenia. I'd definitely return. Whether I'd go with Exodus is another matter. The pluses: the base (Radovljica) is a very pleasant town. I'm glad we were there rather than Bled, which is on the cusp of getting over-touristed. The hotel (to which we were transferred three days before the holiday) was good (probably better than the first choice). Generally, I liked the food. Less good: I was a little disappointed with the balance of the walks (though because I was unwell I ducked out of one day that might have been spectacular). Two waterfall walks were pleasant but rather similar to each other. A walk around Lake Bled was taken in the company of hundreds of others. I'd have liked at least one day walking from the hotel rather than driving to somewhere allegedly more spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing chamois at nearly 2000 metres. Or maybe they were ibex. We asked one of our guides which they were but, rather than taking a dozen steps and looking at them, she asked whether they had long horns. Subsequent research indicates that female ibex and chamois have similar horns.....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two leaders. They led us efficently, sorted out lunchtime bills without fuss, were prompt and personable. They obviously have a great love for Slovenia and nature, but what I found frustrating in retrospect is that they said very little about the flora and landscape we were walking through, and the animals and birds we might see. Possibly this is a language issue, though their English was good (and, of course, far better than anybody's Slovenian).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We joined the holiday at the end of a week's cycling in Slovenia. We had liaiased with the Exodus office to ensure that we arrived in time for the introductory briefing, which necessitated leaving the Slovenian coast earlier than we might have otherwise. We were told the briefing would be at 7.30. We arrived in the dining room for the briefing at 7.10, to find everyone else seated, waiting for their first course, the briefing over. Not a great way to start, and easily avoidable as we'd been at our hotel since 3 pm. We were asked to be ready for the minibus at 8.30 or 9 each day. Sometimes the activity was finished by 3 pm. I'd have been happy with an earlier start and finish. This didn't seem to be negotiable.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Pauline leeson

    A country of mountains, lakes and rivers

    good walking. great company. we had lovely weather although it does rain a lot.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in Lake Bled and everyone making it to the top of the mountain on the last day. Priceless!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Budgie and Alex were excellent. very experienced walkers. gave us all a lot of confidence in their ability to lead the group and keep everyone safe. there were also a lot of laughs. great skill at helping group to gel ad get the best out of everyone regardless of their ability. We also had lessons on the geography, history, politics and culture of Slovenia. immensely enjoyable and very interesting.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    get yourself fit so that you get the most out of the walking. and bring a swimming costume.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    beautiful green country. go there before it is spoilt!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Neil Rank

    Another excellent Exodus holiday

    Slovenia is a lovely country with lovely people - helpful and friendly. I can but pass on the advice given to me which was “go before it gets too popular”. An important factor in making the holiday is the Leaders and the Group. In both instances they were excellent. Walks are well planned and whilst some previous posts have commented re lunching in restaurants rather than a packed lunch, I preferred the former, which, with one exception, are not restaurants but mountain lodges. All helps the local economy. Weather can be changeable but aside from our Lake Bled day, we enjoyed good weather. When it rains, it rains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the ridge which marks the Border between Slovenia and Austria. The trip to the capital on the free day is also very enjoyable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two Bugy (or Boogie Woogie as he is more affectionately known) and Alesh. Both are excellent guides with a great sense of humour. Very attentive and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go before the country gets discovered. Be prepared for changeable weather.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is good - no frills but clean with friendly staff - but the Wi-Fi can be a bit frustrating as the weather can impact on its reliability.
  • Reviewed November 2016

    Lakes and Mountainsee trip

    This was my first Exodus trip and I loved it! The guides were hilarious, friendly and knowledgeable. The accommodation had amazing views, good food and cheap booze. The walks were all different and had breathtaking views. I never realised how beautiful Slovenia is. I would fully recommend this trip if you like walking, good food and good views.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the lakes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Caroline Convery

    Slovenia walking

    Relaxing and enjoyable walking in Slovenia although would have preferred only one day of walking on the flat around a lake rather than two. Accommodation good but surprised all lunches taken in restaurants and not as a packed lunch.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ridge walk Meeting my fellow walkers - all lovely people

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very friendly and pleasant
  • Reviewed July 2015
    Paul Gofton

    Lakes & Mountains of Slovenia

    Slovenia is a picturesque country, whose people are warm and friendly. The mountains are not as severe as those of the Western Alps with the lower levels covered with trees so there are less traditional Alpine meadows than I expected. In my opinion this added to the scenery but it did mean having to walk up through woodland trails before getting your reward of the stunning views. Lake Bled must be a highlight of anyones trip to Slovenia but Lake Bohinj is also memorable The Pension we stopped at in Radlovijca has views of the Julian Alps including mount Triglav Slovenia's highest peak. It is within 5 minutes walk of the old part of the town with many pretty buildings and a number of restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my fellow travellers had cycled from the UK to Slovenia to join his part of his family for this trip. He was then intending to cycle into Eastern Europe and Asia before hopefully reaching Australia in 18 months time. Being invited into a small village church by a local neither of us understanding a word of what the other was saying but me getting the impression he was proud to show me round

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bugy or leader and Miha were both very good, they loved the outdoors. Both had climbed Triglav which made them a true Slovenian. In terms of the walking they were always looking out and ready to help anyone having difficulty with the walking. They would also suggest and take some of the trip on easier walks when we were in the Mountains. Both seemed to be known by loads of people which helped in bars and restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is a train track close to the accommodation and if your room is in that part of the Pension then this could disturb your sleep but you will soon get used to it and don't let this put you off booking. As for the walks this trip is graded 3 moderate, two of the days walk round stunning lakes but apart from one optional climb the walking of these days is flat and I would grade as 1 or possibly 2 . Of the other 3 days walking one day is through a gorge to some waterfalls with short sections of rocky narrow paths, whilst the remaining two are in the mountains and require a reasonable level of fitness for the up hill paths nothing worse than a day in the Lakeland fells. If you get chance for a barbecue at Lake Bohinj go for it - stacks of food and very cheap Slovenia is a cheap country compared with Western Europe especially for drink, however the food on the last day in the mountain hut is not.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ljubliana is worth a visit on the spare day especially the old town and castle. Loved Slovenia it is definitely worth a visit and somewhere I would return to
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Michael Bond

    Lakes and Mountains of Slovenia

    Slovenia has some stunning scenery, the people are very friendly, and the infrastructure is very well developed; an ideal holiday destination with walking at the higher end of the moderate grade, but nothing too extreme. Radovljica, where you will stay, is an ideal location from which to walk in the mountains and on your free day you can hire a bike and walk or ride to Lake Bled, or take the bus or train to the capital, Ljubljana, which is only an hour away and well worth a visit. A cool beer whilst sitting on the hotel terrace after a days walk is extremely civilised and very rewarding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from Golica, on the Austrian border, and Brda, just below mount Triglav, and the day trip to Ljubljana via bus on the way out and train on the way back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    David and Ales were very experienced leaders and both had a relaxed approach with an ideal (dry) sense of humour. Excellent leaders.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Walking poles can be useful on the steeper climbs and descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An attractive single track railway runs just down the hill from the hotel and if you have a garden room you may hear the odd goods train at night, but you soon get used to it so don't be put off.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Stephen Woolfson

    Lakes and Mountains of Slovenia

    An excellent week's Walking and a real History Lesson

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk up to the Croatian-Austrian Border. We retraced the steps of the 10,000 Refugees who trekked over these mountains in April 1945.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Before departing I picked up a book called "Slovenia 1945".by John Corsellis. It is about what happened, in Slovenia, during the Second World War. It is a fascinating and harrowing book and describes the events, in the exact area , in which the Trip is based. I found it gripping and a real eye opener as I knew little about the history of area . It is well worth buying or downloading, to read, while on the trip.
Call us on 020 8772 3936